Choose a book-length report on an archaeological site. This can be a site report found in the library or online, but it must be created by a reputable archaeologist and be substantial (200+ pages at least). When you find a Site Report you want to use, make sure you check with Dr. Chenoweth first about whether it's appropriate for this assignment.
Be aware that many site reports are not available online, you'll only be able to access their citations and abstracts. Don't get frustrated, just keep searching. Research is a trial and error process.
Here are some suggestions on where to look for interesting site reports:
1. Search the UM Museum of Anthropoloigcal Archaeology database
- Search for site reports to browse a list of site reports available in this database
2. Search the UM-Dearborn Library Catalog to see site reports available here on campus
3. Search in Site Report Databases
- BAR Digital Collection: provides access to over 3000 academic archaeological research ebooks from around the world. Note that the search box for this database is at the top right of the landing page.
- Warning: many BAR publications are collections about various sites or synthetic works, and not really site reports. To tell the difference, pay particular attention to length, with real site reports being much longer, and make sure that a volume is about one site, not many.
- The Digital Archaeological Record repository
- Check the box beside Publicly Accessible Files in the list of Search Options to the left of the list of search hits
- National Archaeological Database (NADB): was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide. Scroll below the search box on the landing page to browse their site reports and see their suggested keywords/search words. Go to the Using tDAR page for more help and instructions.
- US National Park Service: Search a specific park’s website; many have Archaeological Divisions and make their reports available online. For instance:
- Fort Vancouver
- Independence National Historic Park (Philadelphia)
- The African Burial Ground National Historic Park
- Just search for “National Historic Park” and there’s a good chance archaeological reports will be present on the website of the one you’re interested in
- The UK ArchaeologicalData Service
- Archive of Mesopotamian Archaeology at SUNY Stoneybrooke (Iraq, Syria, Iran, etc.)
4. Or, Google up some terms or places you find interesting!
- Just be sure it’s a real site report, not a collection of ideas by a non-professional, or a popular book.
