FNDS 1501: Physics for 21st Century Citizens

Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.

News Media Databases

• CQ Researcher - CQ Researcher provides an in-depth look at a single current, important, news issue each week. The articles are a good starting point for finding and exploring research paper topics.
• NewsBank: Michigan Newspapers - Recent coverage of about 150 Michigan newspapers is provided by NewsBank. Examples of newspapers included includes Detroit News (since 1999), Flint Journal (since 1995), Grand Rapids Press (since 2000), Kalamazoo Gazette (since 2005), Oakland Press (since 2004), and Saginaw News (since 1998).
• The New York Times Academic Pass - Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through the library website. The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
• Global Newsstream: Full text from over 1,000 newspapers and newswire services from around the world. Includes full text access to recent years of the Detroit News, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal (including Americas and Asia editions), and the Washington Post.
• Access World News: Newspaper articles, magazine articles, broadcast transcripts, newswire stories, news videos, and journalist-written blogs from more than 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Search for a topic within the publications of a particular country or region. 
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context - From Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration, Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps you research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data. Includes more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and more than 5,000 topic overviews.
• Wall Street Journal Academic Pass - Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through the library website. The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
• More Newspaper Databases

General Research Databases to start with for research:

• Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
• JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
• OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
• ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
• Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
• Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."

The online news outlets below are just some of the recommended news sources available to you online for free that strive to fact check and be as unbiased as possible.

AllSides - "We expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other." (About)

BBC - "The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster. We’re impartial and independent, and every day we create distinctive, world-class programmes and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world." (About)

The Hill - A great news source for political information.

National Public Radio (NPR) (online news edition) - "NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public. Every day, NPR connects with millions of Americans on the air, online, and in person to explore the news, ideas, and what it means to be human. Through its network of member stations, NPR makes local stories national, national stories local, and global stories personal." (About)

Reuters (World News) - Great source for world news and financial news.

USA Today - Covers US and international news.