Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
General Research Databases to start with:
- Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
- JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
- OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
- ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
- Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
- Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."
Specific History and Political Science Databases that may be helpful:
- CQ Almanac - "Summarizes the events in Congress each year. Identifies and compares text changes between the House and Senate, and gives behind-the-scenes information."
- CQ Congress Collection - "CQ Press Congress Collection is a survey of the history and current developments of the U.S. Congress. Included are biographical and voting data for members of Congress, legislative information organized by topic, key votes, legislative analysis, interest group scores of members, encyclopedic information on Congress, and Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress."
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection - "CQ Voting and Elections Collection includes data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material that provide information about the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships."
- America: History and Life with Full Text - "Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included."
- Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials - "The Living Room Candidate includes more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952."
- Nixon Years, 1969-1974 - "The Nixon Years includes Foreign & Commonwealth Office and British Embassy analyses of U.S. policy decisions, White House staff appointments and U.N. discussions, views on Europe, the deployment of F111 aircraft on U.S. airbases in the U.K., Nixon's battles over funding from Congress, and much more. There are also detailed assessments of all the changes brought about by the presidential elections of 1972." Obviously this one will only be helpful if you're specifically looking at Nixon's presidency and election.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: provide fully searchable cover-to-cover access to historical newspaper content. Historical newspaper content is among the most sought-after primary source material in research. There are more than 60 premier stand-alone historical titles dating back to the 1700s and more than 55 million digitized pages.
