Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
General Research Databases to start with:
- Academic OneFile - Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
- JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
- OmniFile Full Text Select - Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present.
- ProQuest Research Library - Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present.
- Taylor & Francis Online - Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals.
- Wiley Online Library - Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University.
History Databases of Primary Sources
- Confidential Print: Middle East - This collection of materials from the National Archives, Kew, covers a broad sweep of history from about 1839 to 1969. Coverage includes the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. It includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, and economic analyses issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
- Index Islamicus - References to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes not only publications about the Middle East, but also the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
-
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers - With a preliminary release of over 100,000 pages from 15 titles, the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection provides access to historical news content with unique insights into the history of individual countries in the Middle East and Northern Africa, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late nineteenth through the mid-twentieth century. Content in MENA Newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
