Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FNDS 1304: Horror

Film Databases

Streaming Film Databases

The following library databases provide access to full-length featured films, including horror films.

  • Swank Digital Campus - Swank Digital Campus offers streaming of feature films and documentaries produced by major Hollywood and independent studios. NOTE: You will need to be connected to the the campus VPN to view these titles. Here are instructions on how to set up the VPN.
  • Feature Films for Education - With hundreds of full-length feature films, Feature Films for Education focuses on literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award winners, and more.
  • Kanopy Streaming Service - Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable. Kanopy's viewing platform makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across our campus and at your own convenience.
  • Alexander Street Databases - This database contains access to a massive amount of films, audio, screenplays, and reviews.

Film Reviews

  • Gale Literary Sources Gale Literary Sources allows users to research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across various literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

  • New York TimesThe New York Times provides real time same day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources, such as: video, audio, graphics, and database content. It also contains film reviews.

    • Note: Access to The New York Times requires an individual account to be created through the library website.

    • Once you have access to the NYTimes through the Library's Academic Pass you can access movie reviews by scrolling down to Movies under Arts at the bottom of the homepage.

General Databases

Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject. The following general databases may be good for contextualizing your film selections.

General Research Databases to start with:

  • Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
  • JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
  • OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
  • ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
  • Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
  • Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."

Film Databases Outside the Library

The following websites are good starting places for selecting films. These are not authoritative or scholarly sites, they're simply sites to get inspiration for picking films.

  • IMDB (Internet Movie Database) - Provides trailer, plot, general movie info, cast and crew info, recommended titles, movie trivia, user reviews, box office info, and technical specs.
  • Rotten Tomatoes - Provides a crowd sourced rating, brief movie info, cast and crew info, links to cast interviews, links to critic reviews, and audience reviews.
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us