Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
General Research Databases to start with:
- MLA International Bibliography - "Subject index for books, articles, and websites published about modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Coverage is worldwide with the majority of records from English-language publications, but at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish."
- Communication and Mass Media Complete: Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals. Coverage of more than 570 journals in the communication and mass media fields, with full-text for more than 450 journals.
- Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
- JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
- OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
- ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
- Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
- Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."
Specific Anthropology, English, History, and Literature Databases that may be helpful in researching trauma:
- 18th Century Collections Online - Images of every page of 180,000 books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and other works published during the 18th century. Covers many subject areas, including literature, fine arts, politics, history, philosophy, religion, and more. When complete, this source will include nearly every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- 19th Century Collections Online - Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource of a wide variety of previously unavailable primary sources including: books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and more.
- America: History and Life with Full Text - Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included.
- Anthropology Online - "Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior."
- AnthroSource - "AnthroSource provides access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology. It contains more than 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books."
- British Online Archives - British Online Archives contains a wide range of materials related to British history, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia, and Melanesia. The collection contains primary sources that relate to both politics and history. Additional content can be found by selecting the 'List Collections' option on the toolbar.
- Literature Criticism Online - Tens of thousands of hard-to-find scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. Choose to search any combination of Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center - Information, full-text articles, and criticism on authors from all time periods and genres. Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and other literature reference sources.
