Resources for Studying and Teaching the January 6, 2021 U.S. Capitol Insurrection

“Roots of the Attack on Democracy”, the latest in our MUSE in Focus series, explores the history of American right-wing extremism and the modern forces that culminated these attitudes in our current moment. Understanding the nature of these challenges provides the best chance to overcome them.

See a complete listing of our Newspaper databases, in alphabetical order.

Newspaper articles, magazine articles, broadcast transcripts, newswire stories, news videos, and journalist-written blogs from more than 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.

Showcases unique, independent voices from around 200 respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals - big stories from small sources. Offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news and an unmatched, multi-disciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream, corporate controlled media.

All AP photos from the current year, plus selected past photos since 1844. Over 700,000 photos, including all AP photos added in the previous 365 days (800 per day) plus many selected older photos from 1844 to the present.

Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Recent coverage of about 150 Michigan newspapers, including the Detroit News (1999 - present), Flint Journal (1995 - present), Grand Rapids Press (2000 - present), Kalamazoo Gazette (2005 - present), Oakland Press (2004 - present), and Saginaw News (1998 - present).

Newspaper Source Plus offers millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines, as well as television and radio transcripts.

See a complete listing of our Political Science databases, in alphabetical order.

Provides full text for more than 530 journals as well as indexing and abstracts for 2,900 journals. Also includes more than 340 full-text reference books and more than 38,000 full-text conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Coverage starts in 1934, with more complete coverage beginning in 1970.

Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century combines primary sources on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups. Topics include origins and development of present-day issues, including the resurgence of right-wing politics, evolution of various civil rights movements and the nature of extreme or radical political thought.

Politico Pro is a current news resource covering the U.S. government and politics. Politico Pro content consists of articles, documents (including Congressional Dear Colleague letters), and infographics.