News Media Sources through the Library
- CQ Researcher - CQ Researcher provides an in-depth look at a single current, important, news issue each week. The articles are a good starting point for finding and exploring research paper topics.
- NewsBank: Michigan Newspapers - Recent coverage of about 150 Michigan newspapers is provided by NewsBank. Examples of newspapers included includes Detroit News (since 1999), Flint Journal (since 1995), Grand Rapids Press (since 2000), Kalamazoo Gazette (since 2005), Oakland Press (since 2004), and Saginaw News (since 1998).
- The New York Times Academic Pass - Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through the library website. The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context - From Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration, Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps you research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data. Includes more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and more than 5,000 topic overviews.
- Wall Street Journal Academic Pass - Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through the library website. The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
- Washington Post - Does not include page images, just text.
- Newspaper Databases
Free Online News Media Sources
The online news outlets below are just some of the recommended news sources available to you online for free that strive to fact check and be as unbiased as possible.
- AllSides - "We expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other." (About)
- BBC - "The BBC is the world’s leading public service broadcaster. We’re impartial and independent, and every day we create distinctive, world-class programmes and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world." (About)
- The Hill - A great news source for political information.
- National Public Radio (NPR) (online news edition) - "NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public. Every day, NPR connects with millions of Americans on the air, online, and in person to explore the news, ideas, and what it means to be human. Through its network of member stations, NPR makes local stories national, national stories local, and global stories personal." (About)
- Reuters (World News) - Great source for world news and financial news.
- USA Today - Covers US and international news.
For in-depth information on what current news media the Mardigian Library allows access to please check out our News Media Subject Guide by Joel Seewald.
