Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's & Gender Studies Research

Access Library Resources Online

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Useful Databases for LGBTQ Research

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940: features historical records of hundreds of political and social organizations founded by and for LGBTQ people, including major international activist organizations and local grassroots groups  

Gale ebooks - Multicultural Studies: full-text articles related to gay and lesbian literature and other multicultural topics. Sources include The Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in AmericaGale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America; and others.

Gender Studies: combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Includes links to several thousand freely available full-text articles and documents on the Web as well as coverage of professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, and other sources.

GenderWatch: provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Combines academic, gray, and popular literature titles on wide-ranging topics like LGBTQ issues and perspectives, sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.

LGBT Studies in Video: provides interdisciplinary perspective on LGBT political, cultural, and social movements throughout  the 20th century and into the present day,

LGBTQ+ Source: Full text for 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full text monographs/books. Also includes indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.

Click here to see the full list of Mardigian Library's LGBTQ databases.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us