Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.
Check out the library's self-paced online tutorial What Are Library Databases and Why Should I Use Them? for more info about library databases.
Annual Reviews: keep up to date with critical reviews of the most significant research of the year in the Annual Review of Anthropology.
Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior.
AnthroSource: provides access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology. It contains more than 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books.
BAR Digital Collection: provides access to over 3000 academic archaeological research ebooks from around the world. Note that the search box for this database is at the top right of the landing page.
Black Studies Center: gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It combines the following databases: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP); Chicago Defender Historical Backfile (1900-1975), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940).
Indigenous Peoples: North America: sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages all enable students' examination of important primary source materials.
JSTOR: journal articles from core scholarly journals in anthropology, sociology, history, and other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
National Geographic Virtual Library: a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue, with original photos and layout — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos.
Royal Anthropological Institute Archive: provides access to one hundred fifty years of scientific research in anthropology, archaeology, ethnic studies, geography, gender studies, and more. The collection contains a range of original materials including correspondence, fieldwork, gray literature, manuscripts, maps, personal papers, photographs, proceedings, and reports.
Smithsonian Collections Online: A result of Gale's partnership to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare 19th and 20th century archival materials on topics such as the evolving modes of flight, World's Fairs, and trade literature, with recent and backfile issues of Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine.
Web of Science: use to identify related articles in your research area:
Click here to see the full list of Mardigian Library's Anthropology databases.
