FNDS 1601: Gen Z and Civic Engagement

Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.

General Research Databases to start with:

• Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
• JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
• OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
• ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
• Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
• Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."

Specific History and Political Science Databases that may be helpful:

• America: History and Life with Full Text - Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included.
• Black Studies Center - A gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It combines: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text, The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909 - 1975), and Black Literature Index (1827 - 1940).
• Black Thought and Culture - The non-fiction published works of over 400 leading African Americans. Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature and art.
• CQ Almanac - "Summarizes the events in Congress each year. Identifies and compares text changes between the House and Senate, and gives behind-the-scenes information."
• CQ Congress Collection - "CQ Press Congress Collection is a survey of the history and current developments of the U.S. Congress. Included are biographical and voting data for members of Congress, legislative information organized by topic, key votes, legislative analysis, interest group scores of members, encyclopedic information on Congress, and Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress."
• CQ Voting and Elections Collection - "CQ Voting and Elections Collection includes data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material that provide information about the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships."
• The Federal Register - The Federal Register is the official daily publication for the rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations. Use this website to locate grants announcements, department and agency announcements of grant application review meetings, grant awards, and grant deadlines.
• The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010 - The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010 provides searchable, full-text access to the full archive of the Michigan Chronicle. This newspaper offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources.
• Political Science Complete - Provides full text for more than 530 journals as well as indexing and abstracts for 2,900 journals. Also includes more than 340 full-text reference books and more than 38,000 full-text conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
• ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers - A custom ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers.
• ProQuest Congressional - Indexes to and abstracts of Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of reports and documents (1789-1969), hearings (1833-2003), Congressional Record (1985-), Statutes at Large (1789-), and Federal Register (1980-) as well as the current U.S. Code and Code of Federal Regulations. ProQuest Digital U. S. Bills and Resolutions 1789 - 2013 is also included in ProQuest Congressional. You can now search for the full text of ALL versions of ALL U.S. public and private bills and resolutions from 1789 - 2013.

For in-depth information on what current news media the Mardigian Library allows access to please check out our News Media Subject Guide by Joel Seewald.

Two great news recourses you can access through Mardigian Library:

The New York Times Academic Pass
Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through the library website.
The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
Help - Login Assistance

Wall Street Journal Academic Access
NOTE: Access to the Wall Street Journal requires an individual account to be created through the library website.
The Wall Street Journal is a global news organization that provides news, information, commentary, and analysis. The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, culture, and more.
Help - Login Assistance