Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
General Research Databases:
- JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
- OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
- ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
- Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
- Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."
Specific Linguistic Databases:
- Communication & Mass Media Complete - Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals. Coverage of more than 570 journals in the communication and mass media fields, with full-text for more than 450 journals. For significant titles in the field, coverage goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915). Full-text access to Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics (1999-Present), Journal of Applied Linguistics (2004-Present), Journal Of Applied Linguistics & Professional Practice (2004-Present), Language & Linguistics Compass (2011-Present), Linguistics Journal (2007-Present), Linguistics & Philosophy (2000-Present), Linguistics & The Human Sciences (2005-Present) and other scholarly linguistics journals.
- Enhanced Electronic Grammars - Comprehensive descriptions of languages from geographical regions and language families from around the world. Interlinked and semantically annotated format enables cross-linguistic queries. Allows for cross-language comparison of grammatical phenomena and individual language descriptions. Enhanced with audio, video, and maps. Updated semiannually with new grammars.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World - Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. The information in the Ethnologue will be valuable to anyone with an interest in cross-cultural communication, bilingualism, literacy rates, language planning and language policy, language development, language relationships, endangered languages, writing systems and to all with a general curiosity about languages.
Lexicons of Early Modern English - Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
MLA International Bibliography - Subject index for books, articles, and websites published about modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Coverage is worldwide with the majority of records from English-language publications, but at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Handbooks from the Oxford Handbooks series in archaeology, business and management, classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to those fields. Print and save individual chapters (essays) as PDFs.
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online - Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online is a collection of maps detailing the distribution of languages, dialects, words, and grammatical features. High-resolution linguistic maps allow searching by sub-discipline, language or dialect, geographical location, year or century described, map caption or description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, and full text.