COMP 280 - Business Writing

Use Mardigian Search to begin your research. 

Mardigian Search allows you to search through the entire library collection and many of the databases all at once.  

Mardigian Search is a single search for all materials in the library:

• Books and e-books from the library catalog
• Articles - from library database subscriptions
• Streaming videos and DVDs

See the video tutorial on using Mardigian Search below.

You can also search within specific databases to locate articles. Below are a few suggested databases, although you can browse the entire business database collection to see all your database options. 

• ABI/INFORM Complete: ABI/INFORM provides full text access to a wide range of business, finance, and management publications as well as local and regional business publications, trade and industry magazines, and newsletters. 
• Factiva: Along with a wide range of company and industry financial data, Factiva also offers full text articles from a wide range of trade publications and newspapers. 
• ProQuest Global Newsstream: Full text from thousands of newspapers, magazines, and trade publications from around the world. Titles include Crain's Detroit Business and the Washington Post. You can access the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times directly through their website by creating an account linked to your UM-Dearborn email. Links with information on setting up these accounts can be found on the "Academic Access to News Sites" page of this guide. 

You can search the databases below for articles from academic and scholarly journals. 

• ABI / INFORM Complete - Covers business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, industry reports, and a wide variety of other topics.

Search Tip: After entering your search terms in the search box, choose the 3 output options: full text, peer reviewed, and scholarly journals. Once articles are retrieved, reduce the number of ‘hits’ by specifying a date range. Do another search, using the related search terms that appear at the top of the results page.

• Business Source Complete - Contains over 2,000 active, business-related periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, marketing, banking, and international business. 

Search Tip: From the advanced search page, select "peer reviewed" under "Limit your results" and "academic journals" under "publication type."

• Wiley Online Library - Journal articles from Wiley publications in the areas of business, finance and management, education, engineering and sciences, law, and psychology. e-Books published since 2008 are also available.

Search Tip: After entering your search terms in the search box, choose the “keyword” or “title” field, as well as a date range of your choice. Once articles are retrieved, you can filter to “journals” or “books”.