FNDS 1205: Understanding Global Cultures

Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.

General Research Databases to start with:

• Academic OneFile - Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live.
• Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly STEM, social science, and humanities research.
• JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
• OmniFile Full Text Select - Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present.
• ProQuest Research Library - Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present.
• Taylor & Francis Online - Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals.
• Wiley Online Library - Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University.

Additionally there are Anthropology, Economics, Environmental Science, Geography, History, and Political Science Databases

The following databases provide access to up to date news from US and International News Outlets. For more information, check out the News and News Sources Subject Guide.

Access World News includes the full text of hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers and news sources:

• Michigan magazines, newspapers, and college/university newspapers such as The Arab American News, Crain's Detroit Business, The Detroit News, The Michigan Chronicle, and The Michigan Journal.
• U.S.A. newspapers and news sources, both small and large. For example, these large newspapers are included: Houston Chronicle, The New York Daily News, The Philadelphia Inquirer, San Diego Union-Tribune, and StarTribune (Minneapolis/St. Paul.
• International newspapers and news sources are also included, such as Addis Fortune (Ethiopia), Deutsche Press-Agentur (Germany); El Universal (Mexico), Global Times (China), Herald Sun (Australia), and O Globo (Brazil).
• American newsmagazines such as The Atlantic, Mother Jones, The New Republic, Newsweek, and Slate are included.

Alt-PressWatch showcases unique, independent voices from around 140 grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals — big stories from small sources. Coverage of the news for those seeking an alternative to mainstream, corporate-controlled media. Examples of sources included: Commonweal, Earth Island Journal, Fifth Estate, The Independent Review, Mother Earth News, Mother Jones, Rolling Stone, and Skeptic.

Global Newsstream provides full text from over 1,000 newspapers and newswire services from around the world, but predominantly the U.K. and the U.S. Includes access to U.S. newspapers in ProQuest US Newsstream as well as international news sources such as The Daily Mirror (United Kingdom), El Norte (Mexico), La Monde (France), The Star (South Aftica), Sunday News (New Zealand), Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of India, The Windsor Star (Canada). Die Welt (Germany), and much more. 

PBS NewsHour was the nation's first hour-long nightly broadcast of national news and has received virtually every significant award for quality television and outstanding journalism. PBS NewsHour includes full episodes of shows, podcasts, and transcripts as far back as 1996.

POLITICO Pro is a current news resource covering the U.S. government and politics. Content consists of articles, documents (including Congressional Dear Colleague Letters), and infographics.

US Newsstream includes up-to-date news from more than 400 news sources, including blogs, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, trade journals, websites, and wire services. Includes access to such top newspapers as Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Newsday, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Also includes 90 Gannett newspapers from around the United States including: Arizona Republic, Cincinnati Enquirer, Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.), Des Moines Register, Detroit Free Press, Indianapolis Star, Lansing State Journal, Madison Capital Times (Wisconsin), Muslim Journal (Chicago), The Tenneseean, and Wisconsin State Journal.

The library provides an Academic Pass to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

The New York Times - The New York Times provides real time same day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources, such as: video, audio, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crosswords or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
Note: Access to The New York Times through the UM-Dearborn campus subscription requires an individual account to be created through the library website.

Wall Street Journal - The Wall Street Journal is a global news organization that provides news, information, commentary and analysis. Published by Dow Jones, The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, culture and more.
Note: Access to the Wall Street Journal through the UM-Dearborn campus subscription requires an individual account to be created through the library website.