Two great news recourses you can access through Mardigian Library:
The New York Times Academic Pass
Note: Access to The New York Times Academic Pass requires an individual account to be created through this link.
The New York Times provides real-time, same-day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources such as: video, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crossword puzzles or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.
Help - Login Assistance
Wall Street Journal Academic Access
NOTE: Access to the Wall Street Journal requires an individual account to be created through this link.
The Wall Street Journal is a global news organization that provides news, information, commentary, and analysis. The Wall Street Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, culture, and more.
Help - Login Assistance
The following databases provide access to up to date news from US and International News Outlets. For more information, check out the News and News Sources Subject Guide.
Access World News includes the full text of hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers and news sources:
Alt-PressWatch showcases unique, independent voices from around 140 grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals — big stories from small sources. Coverage of the news for those seeking an alternative to mainstream, corporate-controlled media. Examples of sources included: Commonweal, Earth Island Journal, Fifth Estate, The Independent Review, Mother Earth News, Mother Jones, Rolling Stone, and Skeptic.
Global Newsstream provides full text from over 1,000 newspapers and newswire services from around the world, but predominantly the U.K. and the U.S. Includes access to U.S. newspapers in ProQuest US Newsstream as well as international news sources such as The Daily Mirror (United Kingdom), El Norte (Mexico), La Monde (France), The Star (South Aftica), Sunday News (New Zealand), Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of India, The Windsor Star (Canada). Die Welt (Germany), and much more.
PBS NewsHour was the nation's first hour-long nightly broadcast of national news and has received virtually every significant award for quality television and outstanding journalism. PBS NewsHour includes full episodes of shows, podcasts, and transcripts as far back as 1996.
POLITICO Pro is a current news resource covering the U.S. government and politics. Content consists of articles, documents (including Congressional Dear Colleague Letters), and infographics.
US Newsstream includes up-to-date news from more than 400 news sources, including blogs, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, trade journals, websites, and wire services. Includes access to such top newspapers as Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Newsday, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Also includes 90 Gannett newspapers from around the United States including: Arizona Republic, Cincinnati Enquirer, Courier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.), Des Moines Register, Detroit Free Press, Indianapolis Star, Lansing State Journal, Madison Capital Times (Wisconsin), Muslim Journal (Chicago), The Tenneseean, and Wisconsin State Journal.
The following databases provide access to historical news sources from around the world. For more information, check out the News and News Sources Subject Guide.
General Historical News Databases
Specific Location and Population Historical News Databases