America: History and Life with Full Text
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included.
Format: Full Image
Location: On & Off Campus
AtoZ Maps Online provides a diverse range of maps, including modern outline, political, thematic, topographic (including USGS), scientific, and animated maps, as well as tens of thousands of antique maps of the world, individual countries, U.S. states, and U.S. towns and cities. A key benefit is that users can download, modify, and use any of the maps however they wish, including use in print and electronic reports, with no copyright restrictions.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan 1843 - 1922
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Archives Direct
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan 1843 - 1922 provides digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road in the early 19th Century, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the "Great Game", to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the 20th century.
Format: Full Image
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of BrillOnline Primary Sources
This collection of formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.
Confidential Print: Middle East
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Archives Direct
This collection of materials from the National Archives, Kew, covers a broad sweep of history from about 1839 to 1969. Coverage includes the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. It includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries, and economic analyses issued by the British Foreign and Colonial.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Archives Direct
This collection of files from the Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan from a British government perspective.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Archives Direct
This collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power during the 1970s. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
Format: Streaming Video
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Alexander Street Databases
This collection is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
Format: Citation/Abstract
Location: On & Off Campus
References to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes not only publications about the Middle East, but also the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Global Press Archive
With a preliminary release of over 100,000 pages from 15 titles, the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection provides access to historical news content with unique insights into the history of individual countries in the Middle East and Northern Africa, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late nineteenth through the mid-twentieth century. Content in MENA Newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
Brings together current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of ProQuest
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of ProQuest's Historical Newspapers collection.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of ProQuest
ProQuest History Vault provides access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, documents (letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, etc.) on topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Format: Some Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of ProQuest
ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present.
Format: Citation/Abstract
Location: On & Off Campus
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Coverage starts in 1934, with more complete coverage beginning in 1970.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 100,000 pages.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Format: Full Text
Location: Outage Reported (VPN Only)
This resource is a part of Gale Primary Sources
Full text of declassified Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II. Subjects include foreign relations, the Korean and Vietnam Wars, civil rights movement, assassinations, and more.
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009
Format: Full Image
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of BrillOnline Primary Sources
This comprehensive resource sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, including the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.
Format: Streaming Video
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Alexander Street Databases
Access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. A rich survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage delivers the sights, sounds, artifacts, and histories from around the world straight to your desktop. Included are many of the documentaries most frequently used today in university-level classes teaching history, civilization, and documentary film.
Format: Full Text
Location: On & Off Campus
World Newspaper Archive is a fully searchable, digital collection of historical newspapers from around the world. This is a gradually expanding digitized backfile of 19th and 20th century newspapers.
World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966
Format: Streaming Video
Location: On & Off Campus
This resource is a part of Alexander Street Databases
The full run of newsreels on significant historical events from throughout the 20th century. Includes material from France, Japan, the Netherlands, and other countries throughout the world.
