Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
Specific Linguistic Databases:
Ethnologue: Languages of the World - Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. The information in the Ethnologue will be valuable to anyone with an interest in cross-cultural communication, bilingualism, literacy rates, language planning and language policy, language development, language relationships, endangered languages, writing systems and to all with a general curiosity about languages.
Lexicons of Early Modern English - Lexicons of Early Modern English (LEME) is a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods.
MLA International Bibliography - Subject index for books, articles, and websites published about modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Coverage is worldwide with the majority of records from English-language publications, but at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Handbooks from the Oxford Handbooks series in archaeology, business and management, classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to those fields. Print and save individual chapters (essays) as PDFs.
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online - Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online is a collection of maps detailing the distribution of languages, dialects, words, and grammatical features. High-resolution linguistic maps allow searching by sub-discipline, language or dialect, geographical location, year or century described, map caption or description, map author, book author, book title, year of publication, and full text.