Government Data - Michigan
Data Driven Detroit: houses a comprehensive data system that includes current and historic demographic, socioeconomic, educational, environmental, and other indicators.
SEMCOG Data and Maps (Southeast Michigan Council of Governments): includes information on demographics, socio-economics, housing, land use, and transportation related data.
Other Sources for Government Data
Policy Map (library database): a geographic information system (GIS) used to understand U.S. communities. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap's extensive data collection, with over 15,000 indicators used to understand communities.
- These indicators are organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis.
- For help, see their tutorials and FAQs on their Help page.
- VPN is needed to access this database from off-campus: follow the VPN Setup instructions on the Online Library Access page.
US Census: the leading source of quality data about American people and communities
- American Community Survey (ACS): an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people, including demographics, housing, economic, and social data
- Profiles: Get an overview of your state, county, or place all in one location with their geo-profile pages.
- Provides high-level statistics about your area regarding people and population, race and ethnicity, families and living arrangements, health, education, business and economy, employment, housing, and income and poverty.
- Try searching for your hometown to see what data they have, and don’t forget to share or embed the maps and charts.
- Topics include income & poverty, business, economy, education, employment, health, housing, population
Statistical Data, Analyses, and Policy Reports
Center on Budget & Policy Priorities: a non-partisan think tank that conducts research and analysis to design and advance policies that promote economic justice.
Economic Policy Institute: a non-partisan think tank that conducts research and analysis on the economic status of working Americans and proposes public policies to protect and improve the economic conditions of low- and middle-income workers
Institute for Women's Policy Research: compiles data across a variety of topics and analyzes it through a gendered lens.
- Use the search box at the top right of the home page to search for your topic
- Go to the Publications page to browse through or search their fact sheets and research briefings
- Use the search box above the list of publications to find your topic
PEW Research Center: a nonpartisan think tank that informs the public about issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
- Go to the Economy & Work category under Research Topics to browse a list of categorized topics related to poverty and inequality
- Use the search box at the top right of the home page to search for your topic
Poverty USA: an educational resource to help individuals and communities address the root causes of poverty in America
- Go to the Maps & Data page for statistical data and analyses at federal, state, and county levelss
- Go to the Poverty Facts page for a statistical and demographic breakdown of poverty in the US
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Enforcement Commission: includes information about employment discrimination laws and regulations as well as fact sheets about types of discrimination that include data and statistics.
