COMP 341: Writing in the Professions

What is a trade journal?

A trade journal (sometimes called a professional journal or trade publication) is a kind of magazine written for people who work in a particular profession (teachers, architects, engineers, nurses, etc.). Trade journals often (but not always) have the name of the profession in their title. 

How hard are trade journals to read? What are they good for? 

Since trade journal articles are written for people in a profession, they assume some specialized knowledge. However, they are usually not as difficult, specific, or long as peer-reviewed articles (also called "scholarly articles") in academic journals.

The articles are often meant to let readers know, in ordinary language, how something important (a theory, invention, trend, or law, for instance) will affect them as members of their profession. 

How do I find a trade publication article?

Find a database that is relevant to the field you're interested in by visiting the Mardigian Library A-Z Database page. Once you have selected a database, you may filter your results by source type, magazine or trade publications. 

The trade journals listed below, cover a variety of industries such as education, marketing, publishing, legal, creative professions, healthcare, and more. Most of these trade journals are provided by and accessed through the Mardigian Library, and some are available directly from the professional association that publishes them. 

Law and Criminology

• Scribes Journal of Legal Writing:  leading voice on matters of legal writing and style
• Inside Cybersecurity:  delivers daily news and analysis on what matters most for industry, government, and cybersecurity professionals in responding to new threats and complying with regulatory requirements.
• The American Lawyer: news, data and analysis on the business of law
• ABA Journal: A magazine for lawyers published by the American Bar Association. Articles on substantive law, practice tips and lifestyle for the practicing lawyer.
• Corrections Today: Articles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association.
• FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin: Feature articles dealing with law enforcement, up-to-date practices and techniques, research, notable speeches, bulletin alerts, police practice, and profiles of officers.

Biology and Chemistry 

• Science Editor: Science Editor serves as a forum for the exchange of information and ideas among professionals concerned with editing and publishing in the sciences

Psychology and Mental Health Professions 

• APS Observer: The Observer is the online magazine of the Association for Psychological Science and covers matters affecting the research, academic, and applied disciplines of psychology. The magazine reports on issues of interest to psychologist scientists worldwide and disseminates information about the activities, policies, and scientific values of APS.
• Monitor on Psychology: magazine published by the American Psychological Association (APA), providing news and updates on various aspects of psychology research, practice, and currents events within the field
• Psychology Today: Presents scientifically accurate psychological information for the layperson. Includes book reviews and editorials.
• Mental Health Weekly: Provides information on business trends; state funding and policy issues; litigation; federal legislation and policy; and innovative practices
• Mental Health Business Week: News, opinion and commentary; Mental health; General and consumer interests; Health and medicine
• Psychotherapy Networker Magazine: Presents the latest developments in the psychotherapy field for social workers, psychologists, therapists and educators.
• Behavioral Healthcare: Focused on industry leaders and executives in the behavioral healthcare market.
• Addiction Professional: publication for treatment providers and executives in the addictions field.

Health Care Professions 

• American Nurse Journal: Covers core issues of concern to the registered nurses, including nursing shortage, appropriate staffing, health and safety, workplace rights and patient safety/advocacy in addition to ethics and standards.
• Healio: Medical news, education and information for physicians and health care professionals, presented by specialty and topic
• Managed Healthcare Executive:  provides industry news, market trends and peer-inspired insights about improving outcomes, enhancing the patient experience and lowering the cost of care.
• Healthcare Innovation: Provides news and coverage of technology in the healthcare industry along with the information technologies of tomorrow

Writing (Film and TV, novels, technical communication, etc) 

• Technical Communication: publishes articles about the practical application of technical communication theory and serves as a common arena for discussion by practitioners; journal of the Society for Technical Communication
• Poets & Writers: publishes articles related to literary life, feasible advice about careers and getting published, spotlights on all kinds of creative writers, and dialogue among professional peers.
• Publishers Weekly:  trade news magazine targeted at publishers, librarians, booksellers, and literary agents
• Billboard: provides music charts, news, video, opinion, reviews, events and styles related to the music industry
• Offscreen: a wide-ranging film journal that covers film festivals, retrospectives, film forums, and both popular and more academic events
• Broadcasting and Cable: the leading voice of the television industry, serving the broadcast, cable and program syndication communities.
• Intercom: published to provide practical examples and applications of technical communication that will promote its readers' professional development.
• Game Developer: serving the video game industry through breaking news, insight on game industry trends, expert advice & resources, and more

Business and Marketing 

• Advertising Age: publishes news, analysis, and data on marketing and media
• Adweek:  U.S.-based weekly trade publication covering the business of advertising. In its print and online publications, it covers a wide range of advertising-related topics that extend beyond traditional advertising to new media and pop culture.
• Creative Review: focuses on commercial creativity, covering design, advertising, photography, branding, digital products, film, and gaming
• Urgent Communications: delivers real-world, practical information needed by dealers, private radio and wireless systems operators and large-volume commercial, industrial and public safety communications end-users
• Harvard Business Review: Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
• Crain's Detroit: Timely news for businesses in Detroit. Interviews, company profiles, bankruptcies and the week in review.

Education and Non-Profits

• Writing Lab Newsletter: provides ideas and information about writing centers in high schools, colleges, and universities. Focuses on challenges in tutoring theory and methodology, handling ESL issues, directing a writing center, training tutors, adding computers, designing and expanding centers, and using tutorial theory and pedagogy 
• Writing on the Edge: focuses on writing and the teaching of writing, is aimed primarily at college-level composition teachers and others interested in writing and writing instruction
• NonProfit Pro: provides the latest insights, best practices, and trends from the nonprofit sector.
• Educational Leadership: Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision, and leadership in schools
• Chronicle of Higher Education: News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
• Education Leadership: articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.

You can find additional trade publications through these recommended databases: 

• ABI/INFORM Complete: provides in-depth coverage of business, finance, and management publications as well as local and regional business publications, trade and industry magazines, and newsletters. Covers business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, industry reports, and a wide variety of other topics.
• Proquest Research Library: includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences

Still Looking? 

Try looking up professional associations in the field you are interested in! Many of them publish a trade journal to share updates within the field.