ENGL 314--Survey of Literature in English: 1900 to Present

Locate books on your author, using the library catalog.   

Click on the Books & e-books tab below to begin your search.  (The tab is also found on the library's webpage library.umd.umich.edu)

Example searches:

Let's find books about an author's work (Joseph Conrad) starting with his last name first.:

Conrad Joseph Criticism and Interpretation

You should get a list of titles of his works in our library collection:

We have both e-books (that will have this iconand print books (which will have a call no. and location in the library).  To read an e-book, click on the "Access web version" link found in the book record.

For print books, look for the floor (location) of the book and book's call no.

Locate and request additional books and other sources through MeLCat (Michigan Electronic Catalog)

Find an overview of your topic using these database and e-book sources:

American National Biography Online

Profiles of more than 18,000 men and women from all eras and walks of American life who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Includes thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Combines more than 7,500 articles by scholars drawn from reference works. Includes the complete text of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, The Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, plus selected articles from many other reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Literature Criticism Online

Tens of thousands of hard-to-find scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals. 

Location additional resources in the link  Find Database by Subject - Reference