When is Nadine Anderson, your Librarian, Available?
Email Nadine at firstname.lastname@example.org with your research questions and/or to set up an online meeting. During the Winter 2021 semester I am available online from Sunday to Thursday. I do not engage in work emails outside of these days or during holidays.
This guide will help you with your Research Essay project:
Go to Online Library Access for help and instructions on accessing library databases, articles, and ebooks online
Go to Develop Your Thesis for guidelines and instructions on developing a focused, well-defined thesis
Go to Find Articles to find peer-reviewed journal articles about your research area
A step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series.
Designing your own study and writing your research proposal takes time, often more so than conducting the study. This practical, accessible guide by the American Psychological Association walks you through the entire process. You will learn to identify and narrow your research topic, develop your research question, design your study, and choose appropriate sampling and measurement strategies. The figures, tables, and exhibits offer a wealth of relatable examples, and students can use the many activities and worksheets to explore and apply concepts, as individuals or in groups.
"For over twenty five years, Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology and Related Fields has guided student writers through the practical, logistical, and emotional struggles that come with writing dissertations and theses. It offers guidance to students through all the essential steps, including: Defining topics; Selecting faculty advisors; Scheduling time to work on the project, and; Conducting, analyzing, writing, presenting, and publishing research. This fully updated third edition includes guiding questions, checklists, diagrams, and sample research papers. It also reflects the most recent advances in online research and includes fully updated online resources.
The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world.
Provides concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Takes students through the thesis process: drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation.
The classic step-by-step guide to thesis and dissertation success, fully updated for 2018. This revised and updated fourth edition is the most comprehensive guide yet to researching, writing, and publishing a successful thesis or dissertation. It includes: Insights on leveraging new technologies to maximize your efficiency. Current case studies demonstrating the book’s teachings in action. Tested principles of effective planning, an engaging writing style, defense preparation, and more.
e-Source is a free website offered by NIH’s Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research (OBSSR) with 20 interactive chapters on cutting-edge social and behavioral science research methods, including social survey data collection, qualitative methods, clinical trials and measuring socioeconomic status. The chapters give an overview of new research methods as well as updates of existing methods.