Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECE 554: Embedded systems

Searching for journal articles using research databases

When looking for journal articles, sometimes referred to as technical papers, the first question is often "Which database should I use?" Try starting with those listed below. If you are still having problems, go to the library's Engineering databases page.

Tips for finding articles:

  • Suggested keywords/terms to get you started
    • "embedded applications"
    • "embedded applications" AND "cloud"
    • "embedded software"
    • "embedded software" AND "tools"
    • "embedded software" AND "development tools"
  • Do you need to restrict your search by time period? Most databases allow you to do this. If, for example, you need information no more than 5 years old, you can limit your search.
  • ProQuest, for example, contains scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, and theses. You can limit your search to each of these sources by clicking on the different tabs. Databases that are similar to ProQuest (i.e., are more general in scope rather than specific to computer science or engineering) include:
    • ABI/INFORM
    • Expanded Academic ASAP
    • LexisNexis Academic
    • Wilson Select Plus
  • For databases that are primarily contain scholarly articles, try:
    • ACM Digital Library
    • ScienceDirect
    • SpringerLink
    • Wiley Interscience
  • Browse issues of journal articles - browsing journals is not as time-efficient as searching databases. However, if you see the same journal appearing time after time in your search results, this might be a good journal to browse. To browse journals, go the library's home page and click on Journals. Type in the journal title and you will get a list of dates for which we have coverage as well as a link to that journal.

I found an article. How do I find more?

  • Check the articles for keywords - there might be synonyms for the keywords that you used that will help you find more articles. Keywords are usually found before or after the article's abstract.
  • Look through the article's references - you should be able to find citations to older, helpful articles there
  • Search for more articles by the same author(s) - the author(s) probably have published more articles in the field.
  • Sign up for search alerts or table of contents alerts - this is especially helpful if you plan ahead and have a couple of weeks to a couple of months before your project is due. Many databases have these alerts and you may be able to incorporate the latest research into your project. 

General databases

Some databases, such as ProQuest, contain scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers, theses, etc. In most of these, you can limit your search to scholarly journals by clicking on a tab or by checking a box. 

In ProQuest, for example, you can limit your search to each of these sources (journals, magazines, etc.) by clicking on the different tabs. Databases that are similar to ProQuest (i.e. are more general in scope rather than specific to computer science or engineering) include ABI/INFORM and General OneFile. Databases in the box above, such as ASME Digital Library, Science Direct, SpringerLink, and Wiley Interscience, primarily contain scholarly journal articles.

ABI/INFORM

Provides in-depth coverage of business, finance, and management publications as well as local and regional business publications, trade and industry magazines, scholarly journals, and newsletters. Covers business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, industry reports, and much more.

General OneFile

Articles from magazines, newspapers, and selected academic journals. Covers a wide range of current topics.

ProQuest Research Library

Articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 to present.

Research databases - more specific

Start with the databases below. If you can't find enough articles through these, check other Computer Sciences databases at: http://library.umd.umich.edu/Find/cat.pho?cat=Computer_Science.

For general databases (those that cover computer science as well as many other subjects), see the General Databases box.

ACM Digital Library

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and newsletters. ACM publications cover computer science, computer technology, programming, CAD, and related topics.

IEEExplore Digital Library

Full-text access to IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 as well as select content back to 1893. Also includes IEE trasactions and all current IEEE standards.

ProQuest Research Library

Academic and general articles about a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanties, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 to present.

OmniFile Full Text Select

Full text articles on a variety of topics, from genereal and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994-present.

ScienceDirect

Science, medicine, and technical journals. Also includes engineering, economics, business and management, and selected social science titles.

SpringerLink

Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals along with some electronic books and series. Topics covered include biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, and economics. Time-span covered is from 1995-present, but varies by title.

Wiley Online Library

Journal articles from Wiley publications in the areas of business, finance and management, education, engineering and sciences, law and psychology.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us