Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain scholarly journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
If you are researching within a specific discipline I would suggest searching through the databases by subject to find one that suits your needs such as the History, Art, Anthropology, Environmental Science, and more! We also have a General list of databases to get you started.
Recommended General Databases:
Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
Academic Search Complete - "a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly STEM, social science, and humanities research."
CQ Researcher - "provides an in-depth look at a single current, important, news issue each week. The articles are a good starting point for finding and exploring research paper topics."
OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
Opposing Viewpoints in Context - "From Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration, Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps you research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data. Includes more than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays and more than 5,000 topic overviews."
ProQuest Research Library - "includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."