Federal and State Cases, Laws, Statutes, and Regulations
Nexis Uni: includes law reviews, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations. For search help, go to their Search Tips page.
U.S. Government Publishing Office (govinfo): free, public access to official publications from Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches of government. For more info and search help, go to the Help page. Collections include:
Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL): the compilation of Michigan laws in force, arranged without alteration, under appropriate headings and titles, and available in full-text. The MCL includes Public Acts enacted by the Michigan Legislature, the Michigan Constitution of 1963, as amended, and Executive Reorganization Orders issued by the governor. For help, see their Help Page with tutorials and FAQs about the MLC as well as contact information for further information and help.
Michigan Judicial Institute: education office of the Michigan Supreme Court, State Court Administrative Office. Includes court rules and procedures, legal statutes, as well as publications and online learning resources.
Crime Statistics, Reports, and Datasets
Sage Stats (library database): includes datasets that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas dating back more than 20 years. Topics covered include crime, social welfare, population, education, and more. For help, see their FAQs page.
Detroit Crime Viewer: Interactive crime map (currently in beta phase) that shows where and when crimes were committed. Crimes are color-coded and it displays location, arrest category, report number, and charge description of incidents that happened within city limits. Users can filter results by date and crime, crime type, and also select location by police precincts, zip codes, neighborhoods, council districts, or by searching the interactive map.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: includes over 2,600 curated studies and datasets. It includes several large-scale and well-known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), and the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). For help, see their FAQs and User Support contact page.
National Institutes of Justice: Datasets from research projects funded by the National Institutes of Justice. For help, see their Accessing and Using Research Data page.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Datasets on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. For help, see their Help for Using BJS page.
PEW Social and Demographic Trends: Datasets from studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives. Includes datasets on Hispanic immigration attitudes and trends from the PEW Research Center's Hispanic Trends Project.
Department of Homeland Security: Datasets on immigration, immigrants, and refugees. For help, see their FAQs page.
TRAC Immigration: Datasets on the criminal enforcement of US Immigration Law. For help, see their TRAC Help page.