To locate data and data sets on a topic the library has a number of powerful statistics databases. In order to locate the databases that have data and datasets you can go to the Mardigian Library Homepage and then locate the following link:
Once you arrive at the databases page select the Statistical Information subject heading from the list illustrated in the image below:
This will take you to the databases the library recommends using to find data, datasets, and statistical information.
Note: When and if you link to the databases and if you are off campus you will first be directed to an authentication screen and once you authenticate you will be able to proceed into the database selected. The links will open up a new browser.
If you need help with authenticating you can go here: PIN, MCARDS, & UMID Numbers
These are just a few of the data, datasets, and statistical databases available. If you browse the Statistical Information list of databases, you may see other options that will be beneficial to your research.
Data USA - Data USA, the most comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Quantitative facts of American history, collected from over 1,000 sources. Topics include population, work and welfare, economics, government, international relations, and more. Provides advanced features such as the ability to create custom tables and to download tables in Excel or CSV.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data - The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics covered include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States - Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people. Now updated monthly!
SimplyAnalytics - Note: SimplyAnalytics requires users to log in to save their work and use it again later. Users who do not wish to create a personal account may sign in as a guest. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, health, and marketing data.
Statista - Statista provides access to the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Information comes from over 10,000 sources and covers over 600 industries.
World Development Indicators - Part of the World Bank eLibrary, World Development Indicators provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social, and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.