Find Articles
To search for articles on human resource management, use the databases listed below as a first choice.
- ABI/INFORM Complete – Provides in depth coverage of business, finance and management topics
- Emerald Insight – Contains articles on management, operations, human resources, training, engineering, and other topics.
- Social Sciences Abstracts – Search for articles in the areas of public administration, social work, political science, and history.
- Human Resources Abstracts - Covers essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance.
- Public Administration Abstracts - Covers essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance.
Possible Search Terms
- human resources, personnel, employees, workers, human capital, staff
- management, supervision, administration, team building, leadership, servant leadership
- nonprofit, not-for-profit, private sector, human services
- public sector, government, local government, municipal government, state government, civil service, public administration
- recruiting, hiring
- retention, turnover, attrition
- evaluation, performance appraisal, performance review, performance standards, rating
- compensation, pay, wages, salary
- motivation, incentives, rewards
- morale, attitude
- discipline
- goal setting, planning, strategic planning
- organizational effectiveness, organizational change
- staff development, skills development, continuing education, training
- communication
- diversity, discrimination, racial discrimination, sex discrimination
- affirmative action
- outsourcing, subcontracting, contracting out
- collective bargaining, unionization
- employee-management relations
