Advanced Criminology & Criminal Justice Research Guide

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Check out the library's self-paced online tutorial What Are Library Databases and Why Should I Use Them? for more info about library databases.

Annual Reviews: keep up to date with critical reviews of the most significant research of the year in the Annual Review of Criminology​

Criminal Justice Abstracts: includes hundreds of peer-reviewed journals

Criminal Justice Collection: includes hundreds of peer-reviewed journals, as well as books and magazine and news articles.

Legal Information Reference Center: provides exclusive full text access to many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of state-specific legal forms. Organized by topic, which include immigration, family affairs and divorce, rights and disputes, and property and real estate.

Legal Trac: indexes more than 1500 major law reviews, legal newspapers and journals, and Bar Association journals.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service: includes summaries of journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, and research reports

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Virtual Library: includes resources and online materials produced, funded, or sponsored by the Office of Justice Programs (OJP). Available records include all known works by the OJP, and are intended for research, policy, and program development.

• Click on the Use Search Filters + bar above the list of resources to search this collection. 

Nexis Uni: includes law reviews and journals, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations, legal and trade news, and magazine and newspaper articles. 

• Use their Search FAQs for search help.

Sage Journals: includes full-text Sage journals

• To identify related articles in your research area:
  • Related Articles (articles and ebooks in the same research area)
  • Linked Reference lists (articles cited in the research article)​

Web of Science: use to identify related articles in your research area:

• Linked Times Cited lists (articles that have since cited the research article)
• Related records (articles in the same research area)
• Linked Cited Reference lists (articles cited in the research article)

Wiley Online Library: includes full-text peer-reviewed journals and ebooks. 

• To identify related articles in your research area:
  • Linked Cited By lists (articles that have since cited the research article)
  • Related content (articles and ebooks in the same research area)
  • Linked Cited Reference lists (articles cited in the research article)

Click here to see the full list of Mardigian Library's Criminology & Criminal Justice databases.

What is peer-review? Watch this video and find out.