PSYC 465 (Musial): Experimental Psychology
Research Guide for Dr. Musial's section of the PSYC 465 course
Behavioral Sciences and Women's & Gender Studies Librarian
When is Nadine Anderson, your Librarian, Available?
Email Nadine at nfanders@umich.edu for help with your research questions. During the semester I am available online from Monday through Friday. I do not engage in work emails outside of these days or holidays.
Welcome!
This guide will help you with your course research assignments
- Go to Online Library Access for help and instructions on accessing library databases, articles, and ebooks online
Article Analysis
- Go to Find Psychology Articles to find articles from peer-reviewed Psychology journals in PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES about your research area
- Go to Find Interdisciplinary Articles to find articles using Mardigian Search if you have an interdisciplinary research area
- Go to Read & Analyze Your Articles to find key information in your research articles for your article summaries
- Go to Use Your Articles for guidelines and instructions on using your articles to build your Introduction and Discussion sections
- Go to Cite & Write in APA for help putting together your citations and References List in APA Style
- follow the Quick Reference Guide, In-Text Citations and Journal Articles links for guidelines and templates
- follow the Create an APA References List link and use the References list at the end of the Sample Student Paper
Major Paper
- Go to Find Psychology Articles to find articles from peer-reviewed Psychology journals n PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES about your research area or your Introduction and Discussion sections
- Go to Find Interdisciplinary Articles to find articles using Mardigian Search if you have an interdisciplinary research area
- Go to Identify & Find Tests for instructions on how to identify and find scales, assessments, and tests to use for your study, and justifications on why you used them for your Methods section
- Go to Use Your Articles for guidelines and instructions on using your articles to build your evidence, arguments and conclusions about your research findings for your Discussion section
- Go to Cite & Write in APA for help putting together your citations and References List in APA Style
- follow the Quick Reference Guide, In-Text Citations and Journal Articles links for guidelines and templates
- follow the Create an APA References List link and use the References list at the end of the Sample Student Paper
- Go to Put Together Your Major Paper and use the guidelines to put together each section of your paper
Human Subjects Research & The IRB Application Process
You cannot collect data or run analyses without Institutional Research Board (IRB) approval for any planned research involving human subjects. Go to the eResearch Regulatory Management Human Subjects application page and click on the Human Subjects Study Application button in the upper left margin to start a new application.
Office Of Research Help Guides
- Go to the Human Subjects Research page for more information about conducting human subjects research and the IRB application process
- Go to the PEERS Human Subjects module, required training for anyone doing human subject research
- Use the IRB Application Checklist and the Instructional and Step-by-Step Guides for IRB Applications to help you put together your IRB application
For questions regarding IRB application requirements (e.g., policy, procedure, science), contact IRB Health Sciences and Behavioral Sciences, by email at irbhsbs@umich.edu or by phone at (734) 936-0933.
Research Project Design & Writing
Hover over the info "i" icon for the book's description
Print Books
- Click on the book title link for info on the book's Call Number and library availability.
- If you need help finding a book on the library's shelves, feel free to ask for help at the Library Info Desk
Ebooks
- Click on the title link to open the ebook (click on Access web version on the landing page)
- Go to Online Library Access for instructions on how to access library ebooks and what to do when you can't
-
A Student Guide to Writing an Undergraduate Psychology Honors Thesis
by
Takes students through the entire process of creating a full-scale research project, from selecting a topic, choosing an experimental or correlational design, to writing and presenting their paper. The book offers valuable guidance on developing broader skills like communicating with your supervisor, time management and critical writing skills
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780367562526Publication Date: 2022-11-01 -
Undertaking Capstone and Final Year Projects in Psychology: Practical Guide for Students
by
Serves a seminal purpose in guiding its readers to create a capstone project. The text employs traditional and emerging methodologies and methods in order to posit an exhaustive approach that the psychology students can adopt to see their project to fruition. The text aims at fortifying the reader's skills through the structure of its chapters as they begin to work on their capstone or final year project. The chapters collectively explore the varied aspects that are involved in the completion of a final year project, that is, beginning from the inception of the idea to laying the foundation, designing the project, analysing the data, and, finally, presenting the findings. The text guides the reader through each step and provides further guidance on approaching the idea, coming up with the research question, positioning it within the epistemological and ontological context, and constructing the theoretical framework to arrive at the optimal design solutions. The text will be useful for psychology students who are currently completing a capstone or a final year project. It is further aimed at psychology students who will subsequently be working on a project and are looking forward to gaining cognisance regarding the approach and the methodology to be adopted for the same.
ISBN: 9781032201429Publication Date: 2022-08-04 -
Writing in Psychology (2nd ed.)
by
The second edition of Writing in Psychology by Scott A. Miller is a comprehensive guide to addressing the most challenging issues that students face while writing about psychology, including what to say and how to say it. It offers practical tools to overcome the challenges and create an engaging work. The book is a valuable resource for helping readers become better writers of psychology with the aid of various helpful learning tools, which provide detailed coverage of how to write empirical reviews, research proposals, literature reviews, term papers, and posters. It examines examples from journal articles that give readers a grasp of the content they will encounter in writing psychological reports. Furthermore, it includes exercises that provide an opportunity to apply the points conveyed in each chapter, examples of ways to avoid the most common mistakes made by students, and a guide to the best practices for improving one's writing. Readers will also develop a thorough understanding of how to write in an engaging yet accurate style, using grammatical and word use rules that govern writing in general, and the rules of seventh edition APA (American Psychological Association) Publication Manual that determine the expression of that content. Throughout, the book emphasizes inclusion, diversity, and fair treatment of those with whom psychologists deal, in research and writing. The book will benefit anyone looking for guidance on how to write about psychological content. It is ideal for research scholars and psychology students as a primary text for writing in psychology courses and a supplement for graduate or advanced undergraduate courses in research design or research methods.
ISBN: 9781032159430Publication Date: 2022-06-01 -
Conducting Your Literature Review
by
A step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series.
Call Number: BF76.5 .H45 2020ISBN: 9781433830921Publication Date: 2019-09-10 -
Designing and Proposing Your Research Project
by
Designing your own study and writing your research proposal takes time, often more so than conducting the study. This practical, accessible guide by the American Psychological Association walks you through the entire process. You will learn to identify and narrow your research topic, develop your research question, design your study, and choose appropriate sampling and measurement strategies. The figures, tables, and exhibits offer a wealth of relatable examples, and students can use the many activities and worksheets to explore and apply concepts, as individuals or in groups.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781433827082Publication Date: 2017-08-01 -
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish
by
"For over twenty five years, Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology and Related Fields has guided student writers through the practical, logistical, and emotional struggles that come with writing dissertations and theses. It offers guidance to students through all the essential steps, including: Defining topics; Selecting faculty advisors; Scheduling time to work on the project, and; Conducting, analyzing, writing, presenting, and publishing research. This fully updated third edition includes guiding questions, checklists, diagrams, and sample research papers. It also reflects the most recent advances in online research and includes fully updated online resources.
Call Number: BF76.5 .B44 2020ISBN: 9781433830648Publication Date: 2019-10-08 -
e-Source: Behavioral and Social Sciences Research by eSource is a collection of online chapters that provide an introduction to selected behavioral and social science research approaches, including theory development and testing, survey methods, measurement, and study design. eSource was developed for OBSSR around 2010 by the New England Research Institute (NERI) with contributions from topic experts. These chapters have not been updated to reflect advances in the past decade, and the exercises are not interactive in PDF format, but OBSSR continues to make these chapters available online for those who wish to use them as supplementary teaching materials.
-
Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project
by
The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world.
Call Number: Q180.55.M4 O55 2017ISBN: 9781473952089Publication Date: 2017-05-05 -
Writing Dissertations and Theses in Psychology
by
Provides concrete assistance to the myriad tasks and requirements that students will encounter as they plan, conduct, and present their dissertation or thesis research. Takes students through the thesis process: drafting the proposal, the advisor-advisee relationship, interacting with committee members, the writing process, handling obstacles, and the final presentation.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781003013822Publication Date: 2020-12-28 -
Writing the Winning Thesis or Dissertation
by
The classic step-by-step guide to thesis and dissertation success, fully updated for 2018. This revised and updated fourth edition is the most comprehensive guide yet to researching, writing, and publishing a successful thesis or dissertation. It includes: Insights on leveraging new technologies to maximize your efficiency. Current case studies demonstrating the book’s teachings in action. Tested principles of effective planning, an engaging writing style, defense preparation, and more.
Call Number: LB2369 .G56ISBN: 9781544317205Publication Date: 2018-07-13
