Skip to main content

News & Newspapers

A guide to finding newspapers including local, national, international, and historical newspapers and news sources.

Dearborn Press & Guide

The latest print issue of the Dearborn Press & Guide is kept in the newspaper shelving area next to the library's User Services Desk.

Detroit Free Press

Print

Current paper issues from the most recent week of the Detroit Free Press are kept in the newspaper shelving area next to the library's User Services Desk.Desk.

Online

  • 1831 - 1999 are available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers (includes page images)
  • 1999 - present are available through ProQuest US Newsstream (does not include page images, just text)
  • Online index at Newspapers.com covers Detroit Free Press articles from 1837 to the present. This index can be used to determine if the full text of an article that you want is in the 1831 - 1999 database above or the 1999 - present database

The Detroit News

Print

Current paper issues from the most recent week of the The Detroit News are kept in the newspaper shelving area next to the library's User Services Desk.

Online

The Michigan Chronicle

Online

  • July 2006 - present is available through Access World News (does not include page images, just text)
  • August 2006 - present is available through ProQuest Newsstand (does not include page images, just text)

Other Michigan Newspapers

NewsBank: Michigan Newspapers
Recent coverage of about 150 Michigan newspapers is provided by NewsBank. Examples of newspapers included includes Detroit News (since 1999), Flint Journal (since 1995), Grand Rapids Press (since 2000), Kalamazoo Gazette (since 2005), Oakland Press (since 2004), and Saginaw News (since 1998).

MIRS News

MIRS News
MIRS News (Michigan Information & Research Service Inc.) provides comprehensive news and analysis of state government delivered in written reports detailing the activities of the House, Senate, Judicial, and Executive branches of Michigan state government.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us