Skip to main content

News & Newspapers

A guide to finding newspapers including local, national, international, and historical newspapers and news sources.

Access World News

Access World News includes the full text of hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers and news sources:
• Michigan magazines, newspapers, and college/university newspapers such as The Arab American NewsCrain's Detroit BusinessThe Detroit NewsThe Michigan Chronicle, and The Michigan Journal.
• U.S.A. newspapers and news sources, both small and large. For example, these large newspapers are included: Houston ChronicleThe New York Daily NewsThe Philadelphia InquirerSan Diego Union-Tribune, and StarTribune (Minneapolis/St. Paul.
• International newspapers and news sources are also included, such as Addis Fortune (Ethiopia), Deutsche Press-Agentur (Germany); El Universal (Mexico), Global Times (China), Herald Sun (Australia), and O Globo (Brazil).
• American newsmagazines such as The AtlanticMother JonesThe New RepublicNewsweek, and Slate are included.

Alt-PressWatch

Alt-PressWatch showcases unique, independent voices from around 140 grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals — big stories from small sources. Coverage of the news for those seeking an alternative to mainstream, corporate-controlled media. Examples of sources included: Commonweal, Earth Island Journal, Fifth Estate, The Independent Review, Mother Earth News, Mother Jones, Rolling Stone, and Skeptic.

Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream provides full text from over 1,000 newspapers and newswire services from around the world, but predominantly the U.K. and the U.S. Includes access to U.S. newspapers in ProQuest US Newsstream as well as international news sources such as The Daily Mirror (United Kingdom), El Norte (Mexico), La Monde (France), The Star (South Aftica), Sunday News (New Zealand), Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of IndiaThe Windsor Star (Canada). Die Welt (Germany), and much more.

The International Jerusalem Post

The most current issue of The International Jerusalem Post is kept in the newspaper shelving area at the library's User Services desk.

PBS NewsHour

PBS NewsHour was the nation's first hour-long nightly broadcast of national news and has received virtually every significant award for quality television and outstanding journalism. PBS NewsHour includes full episodes of shows, podcasts, and transcripts as far back as 1996. Teacher resources include lesson plans.

 

POLITICO Pro

POLITICO Pro is a current news resource covering the U.S. government and politics. Content consists of articles, documents (including Congressional Dear Colleague Letters), and infographics.

US Newsstream

US Newsstream includes up-to-date news from more than 400 news sources, including blogs, magazines, newspapers, podcasts, trade journals, websites, and wire services. Includes access to such top newspapers as Boston GlobeChicago TribuneLos Angeles TimesThe New York TimesNewsdayWall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Also includes 90 Gannett newspapers from around the United States including: Arizona RepublicCincinnati EnquirerCourier-Journal (Louisville, Ky.), Des Moines RegisterDetroit Free PressIndianapolis StarLansing State JournalMadison Capital Times (Wisconsin), Muslim Journal (Chicago), The Tenneseean, and Wisconsin State Journal.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us