Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Diaspora

Supports AAAS 4401/5401

Search Summon

Databases

While there are hundreds of research databases available to you through the Mardigian Library, the following selection has content that is immediately relevant to the historical study of African Diaspora. Once you have settled on an approach to the topic assigned, it is advisable to look through the other databases not listed to see if there is one that might deal with your more specific focus (Art, Music, Sociology, ect.)

Academic OneFile  
Academic Search Complete 
ACLS Humanities E-Book  
Africa-Wide Information 
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection 
Alexander Street Databases 
America: History and Life with Full Text
Anthropology Online
Black Studies Center  
BrillOnline Books and Journals  
BrillOnline Primary Sources  
Deep Blue 
EbscoHost eBook Academic Collection
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2012  
Gale eBooks - History  
Gale Primary Sources  
Historical Abstracts with Full Text  
History Reference Center 
JSTOR  
Periodicals Archive Online
ProQuest Ebook Central  
ProQuest History Vault 
Race Relations Abstracts  
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean

Some database fall outside to the study of history, but contain valuable and relevant historical information:

Anthropology Online  
AnthroSource  
AtoZ Maps Online  
Berg Fashion Library  
Eighteenth Century Collections Online  
Empire Online  
Ethnographic Video Online  
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings  
Missionary Archives from Lesotho, 1832-2006  
When searching databases from other disciplines, it can be helpful to qualify your keyword searches with terms like: historical, traditional, migrant, ect. This can help to weed out results that are not relevant to your inquiry.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us