African American Biographical Database - "Biographies of about 40,000 African Americans, both famous and everyday persons, from 1790 to 1950."
African American Communities - "Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina African American Communities presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity."
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 - "Online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling more than a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states-including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles."
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 - "More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes popular magazines, academic and political journals, organization bulletins, and other genres. "
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia - "These books, pamphlets, and broadsides, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature, and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought and racism; descriptions of African American life — slave and free — throughout the Americas; and slavery and race in fiction and drama."
Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle - "The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle collection offers records describing the Black Liberation Army, an underground, black nationalist-Marxist organization that operated primarily during the 1970s. These records are drawn from the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library."
Black Short Fiction and Folklore - "Short stories and folktales by African, African American, and Caribbean authors. Most are previously published, some are previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts. Fables and folktales are also widely represented within the collection."
Black Studies Center - "A gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself."
Black Studies in Video - "Black Studies in Video features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Perspectives collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations."
Black Thought and Culture - "The non-fiction published works of over 400 leading African Americans. Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature and art."
Communication & Mass Media Complete - "Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals. Coverage of more than 570 journals in the communication and mass media fields, with full-text for more than 450 journals. For significant titles in the field, coverage goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915)."
Ebony Magazine Archive - "Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. This resource includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014."
Harriet DeGarmo Fuller Papers, 1852-1857 - "The Harriet DeGarmo Fuller Papers, 1852-1857 consist of four bound volumes of records and eight miscellaneous receipts of the Michigan Anti-Slavery Society, kept between 1852 and 1857, when Harriet DeGarmo Fuller was a member of the executive committee of the Society. The Harriet DeGarmo Fuller Papers form an important and detailed picture of the formation and early activity of the Michigan Anti-Slavery Society, with a record of their official resolutions, activities and expenditures."
Human Rights Studies Online - "This collection is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010."
JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences."
The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010 - "The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010 provides searchable, full-text access to the full archive of the Michigan Chronicle. This newspaper offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources."
Peace Research Abstracts - "Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance."
Political Science Complete - "Provides full text for more than 530 journals as well as indexing and abstracts for 2,900 journals. Also includes more than 340 full-text reference books and more than 38,000 full-text conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations."
ProQuest Research Library - "ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
Race Relations in America - "Race Relations in America contains over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches, photographs, scrapbooks, survey material, and case studies covering the activities of the Civil Rights Movement, the desegregation process, and other relevant events to the story of race in mid-20th century America."
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice - "This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today."
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive - "Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials."
Thomas Leyland Company Account Books, 1789-1793 - "The Thomas Leyland Company Account Books, 1789-1793 are two volumes of records for the slave ships Hannah (1789-90) and Jenny (1792-1793), traveling from Liverpool to Africa, then across the Atlantic to Jamaica and other West Indian Islands. The books record the sales in each port, including enslaved Africans, fabric, and sugar, and contain details on seamen's wages and instructions to the captain for the treatment of enslaved persons."
