Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain scholarly and non-scholarly journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
Art, History, and General Research Databases to start with:
- Accessible Archives - "Searchable archive of historic magazines and newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries."
- Archivision Art Images - "The Archivision Art Image Collection focuses on a wide range of art from Italy, including ancient Roman frescoes, mosaics, and sculpture, as well as paintings and sculpture from the medieval to baroque periods. The collection, created and curated by Scott Gilchrist, photographer and architect, is expected to grow by approximately 3,000 images per year. Images are licensed for academic use."
- Art & Architecture Source - "Art & Architecture Source provides information about fine, decorative, and commercial arts, as well as architecture and architectural design. This resource provides full-text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art & Architecture Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch."
- Art Images for College Teaching - "More than 2,000 royalty-free images for use by the educational community. The emphasis is on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture."
- Arts: Search - "Arts: Search cross-searches three different design and art resources: Design Abstracts Retrospective - An indexing and abstracting service of design and applied arts journals and annuals published during the 20th century; Design ProFILES - A biographical dictionary containing data on nearly 20,000 architects, designers, craftspeople and artists; ReVIEW - A full-text resource covering 19th and early 20th century fine and decorative arts journals"
- Contemporary Japan Online: A Review of Far Eastern Affairs - "offers users access to scanned documents covering a wide range of topics including History, International Studies, and Religion."
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) - "Covers the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Disciplines covered include: ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, product design, industrial design, and landscape architecture from design and applied arts periodicals since 1973."
- JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences."
- Mushi no Utaawase Emaki - "The Mushi no Utaawase Emaki provides users with a digitized representation of the Mushi no Utaawase Emaki, an Japanese Edo Period scroll containing poems and artwork."
- Grove Art Online/Grove Art Online - "Oxford Art includes Grove Art Online with articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day."
- ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
- Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
Biography Databases
- Benezit Dictionary of Artists - "The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, published since 1911, is a comprehensive and definitive resource for artists' biographies. Benezit's distinguishing features include its entries on obscure artists, historic auction records, and over 11,000 images of artists' signatures, monograms, and stamps of sale."
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index - "Find locations of over 15 million brief biographies of individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world."
- Biography in Context - "Biographical information on more than half a million people from throughout history and around the world."
- Biography Reference Center - "Biography Reference Center provides a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography. In addition to keyword searching, you can locate biographies of interest by browsing more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders, and many others."
- History Reference Center - "History Reference Center includes documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals, as well as biographies of historical figures."
- JapanKnowledge - "Includes Japanese language dictionaries (Japanese, English-Japanese, Japanese-English and English-English), a 30-volume encyclopedia, two dictionaries of current words, a dictionary of scientific terms, a biographical dictionary, the JK Who's Who, the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, a news database (NNA) that covers Asia and the European Union, full-text books, a database of video recordings from 1908 to 2005, a database of dissertations from the humanities departments of six universities in Japan, a books in print database, a sound library, and a music library."
