Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.
General Research Databases to start with:
- Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
- JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
- OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
- ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
- Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
- Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."
Anthropology, Psychology, and Sociology Specific Databases
- Anthropology Online - "Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior."
- AnthroSource - "AnthroSource provides access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology. It contains more than 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books."
- PsychiatryOnline - "PsychiatryOnline provides online access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as psychiatry e-books and journals from the American Psychiatric Association."
- SAGE Research Methods - "Browse the methods map or the list of methods to identify a social science methodology to pursue further. When it is complete, Sage Research Methods will have over 1,000 books, reference books, journal articles, and videos on all aspects of social science research methodology. Includes both the Little Green Books (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) and the Little Blue Books (Qualitative Research Methods)."
-
ScienceDirect - "More than 2,500 journals in science, medicine, and technology. Includes coverage of engineering, economics, business and management, and selected social science titles."
-
Scopus - "International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. Coverage includes journals, patents, and websites (18,000+ titles) from more than 5,000 publishers. Users can perform cited reference searching, citation analysis, get h-factor for authors, journal analyzing, etc."
-
Sex & Sexuality - "Sex & Sexuality contains primary sources from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections. They include correspondence, research papers and records covering a spectrum of studies; from criminology, medicine, anthropology and sexology to major institutional developments and research agendas." (NOTE: Access will require confirmation that users are over the age of consent in their country, have read the above statement and understand that Sex & Sexuality may contain material they find distressing.")
