Recommended Databases - FNDS 3301 - Restless Women - Subject Guides at University of Michigan-Dearborn

Mardigian Databases

Databases are a collection of data that have been organized and made searchable. Our library databases contain peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journal articles, films, magazines, primary and secondary sources, and other useful research material. These databases can be found on our Databases and E-Resources page. They can be searched through alphabetically or by subject.

General Research Databases to start with:

Academic OneFile - "Full-text articles from more than 6,000 leading journals and reference sources, including many peer-reviewed journals. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC as well as links to hundreds of medical videos from OR-Live."
JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences." (The only downside of this wonderful database is that you cannot filter for just peer reviewed articles.)
OmniFile Full Text Select - "Full text articles on a variety of topics, from general and scholarly periodicals, covering 1994 - present."
ProQuest Research Library - "Includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
Taylor & Francis Online - "Contains scholarly journals spanning all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine by Taylor & Francis, one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals."
Wiley Online Library - "Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases, many of which are purchased by the Library and accessible to current students, faculty and staff of the University."

History and Women and Gender Studies Specific Databases

19th Century UK Periodicals (This resource is a part of Gale NewsVault) - “When complete, this collection will include approximately 600 periodical titles documenting British life in the 19th century. Currently available are Part 1: New Readership, which covers women, children, humor, and leisure/sport and Part 2: Empire, which covers travel and anthropology, economics, missionaries, and colonies.”
American Periodicals - “More than 1,000 periodicals that began publication between 1740 and 1900, with coverage extending to 1941. These include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically significant periodicals.”
America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts - “America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts features oral history video interviews, photographs, papers, correspondence, and ephemera selected from the collections of the National WWII Museum. These interviews offer an invaluable insight into the involvement of American men and women in World War II, both in a military capacity and as civilians on the home front, as well as giving a voice to individuals who immigrated to the United States as a result of the war.”
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 - "Periodicals, books, and pamphlets from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture, Duke University & the New York Public Library. Includes 75 rare periodicals, such as Echoes of the South (Florida) and The Political Equality Series of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Includes a full run of Town Topics from the New York Public Library. Books cover all aspects of family life and diverse topics from politics to farming. Strong coverage of prescriptive and advice literature, and manuals for domestic management."
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online - “Books and articles reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights, from 1543 to 1945. Includes more than 4,700 publications from Europe, the U.S., the U.K., Canada, and New Zealand. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist. Many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.”
Picture Post Historical Archive - “The complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 — all digitized from originals in full color. Picture Post provides a fascinating snapshot of British life from the 1930s to the 1950s, with thousands of photos of ordinary people doing ordinary things — from boys rolling a tire, to a view of a postwar bedsit, to young women on a roller coaster — all caught in a single moment in time.”
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present - “Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women's social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.”
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - Scholar Edition - “Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, etc. documenting women's activism in public life. Previously inaccessible data and statistics from the publications of local and state commissions on women since 1963 are also included as well as an indexed, searchable online edition of the highly respected, Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (5 vols, 1971-2004)."