HHS 309: Theories & Practice of Social Work

The University of Michigan-Dearborn Campus Archive is located inside the Mardigian Library and houses records documenting the history of the campus and affiliated organizations and individuals. It includes materials created by the units and their employees, including faculty, staff and administrators. These policies are meant to protect the material, the privacy of individuals and the copyright of the Regents of the University of Michigan. Material is available for research by faculty, staff and administrators and their representatives and to the public, except as notes in the guide to the material. The Campus Archive does not keep student folders or personnel files.

AIDS Partnership Michigan is a Detroit-based organization that provides education about HIV/AIDS and also provides services for those affected by HIV. The organization was formed in 1996 through a merger between Wellness Networks, Inc. (founded 1983) and AIDS Care Connection (founded 1989). The record group is comprised mainly of board meeting minutes of Wellness Networks, Inc., but also included are annual reports, financial reports and educational pamphlets of AIDS Partnership Michigan and Wellness Networks, Inc.

Correspondence and government papers from Coleman A. Young’s four terms as mayor of Detroit. The collection starts with the 1973 election campaign then documents twenty years of government activities as chronicled in memos, reports and letters. The papers are from mayoral staff, directors of city departments, quasi-governmental agencies, businesses, charitable and social welfare groups, citizens and Michigan and the U.S. government.

Located in the Henry Ford Health System's One Ford Place building, the collections of the Archives include manuscripts, files, books, institutional newsletters and publications, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document health care, medical and surgical practice, nursing service, medical and nursing education, research, employee and community relations, institutional growth, and the history of our buildings.

LGBT Detroit started as Kick Publishing Company in 1994. Based in Detroit, Kick was the third Black American LGBT media company created in the United States. Distributed nationally, Kick Magazine provided the LGBT community with information, awareness, and a way to organize. In 2003, Kick Publishing Company was revitalized into the non-profit organization: KICK- The Agency for LGBT African Americans. KICK focused on health, education, employment, and social justice for the African American LGBT community in the Detroit area. Their mission was to increase awareness and to support Detroit's dynamic LGBT culture through education and advocacy. They organized and sponsored many expos, exhibits, summits, and other social gatherings. In 2015, KICK was rebranded as LGBT Detroit to better reflect their leadership and connection to the Detroit LGBT community. This collection consists of records created by LGBT Detroit, formerly known as KICK- The Agency for LGBT African Americans. These records include: correspondence, meeting minutes, news clippings, and records relating the the development and running of the organization. Publications from Kick Magazine as well as playbills, fliers, posters, and other ephemera from LGBT Detroit created and sponsored events are also included. In addition: booklets, pamphlets, newspapers, posters, and conference material from other organizations in the Detroit LGBT community are also represented.

This record includes registration for nurses, optometrist, osteopath, physicians and dentists in the county, which can offer information about the different licensed individuals who served in these professions in Wayne county in the first half of the 20th century.

The Dearborn Historical Museum serves as the archives of the City of Dearborn. The Museum’s archives at the McFadden-Ross House contains thousands of photos, reference books, maps, documents, and more. It also has several decades of Dearborn business directories and (nearly) every high school yearbook for Dearborn-area schools.

The Arab American National Museum collects, documents and preserves art, three-dimensional artifacts, books, documents, personal papers and photographs that were created by, owned, primarily used by or that illustrate the Arab American experience. Almost all of the materials in the permanent collection have entered or will enter the collection through the generosity of individuals and communities, making the collection truly reflective of the diverse lives and histories of Arab Americans.

The Reuther Library is the largest labor archives in North America and is home to the collections of numerous unions and labor-related organizations. Its collection strengths extend to the political and community life of urban and metropolitan Detroit, the civil rights movement in Michigan and nationally, and women's struggles in the workplace. The Reuther Library is also the home of the Wayne State University Archives, established by the Board of Governors in 1958 in recognition of the importance and permanent value of the University's official files, records, and documents.

Local history resources available through the Dearborn Public Library include copies of city directories as well as the Ford collection.