Library Databases
America: History and Life with Full Text: Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR: Journal articles from core scholarly journals in disciplines like history, economics, political science, and sociology.
The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010: Provides searchable, full-text access to the full archive of the Michigan Chronicle. This newspaper offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources.
Michigan Country Histories & Atlases: Comprised of 428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923. The collection offers keyword searching and page-by-page access to digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases as a resource for historical and genealogical research.
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of ProQuest's Historical Newspapers collection, including the Detroit Free Press.
Social Explorer: Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports. It is important to remember that it can be difficult to map demographic data over time, since the questions asked and methods used have not remained consistent.
Websites
Historical Society of Michigan; Provides connections to Michigan historical resources including lists of local historical societies and useful research resources.
Making of Modern Michigan: "...includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more."
Michigan History Center: discovers, preserves, and shares the stories of the history of Michigan, including online digital collections
Seeking Michigan: "a growing collection of unique historical information that - through digitized source documents, maps, films, images, oral histories and artifacts - creatively tells the stories of Michigan's families, homes, businesses, communities and landscapes."
United States Census Bureau: Provides demographic, economic, and population census data. Includes historical census data and questionnaires.
