For additional readings beyond our collection check out A reading list to understand anti-Asian racism in America.
Alt-PressWatch - "Showcases unique, independent voices from around 200 respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals - big stories from small sources. Offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news and an unmatched, multi-disciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream, corporate controlled media."
America: History and Life with Full Text - "Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included."
Communication & Mass Media Complete - "Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals. Coverage of more than 570 journals in the communication and mass media fields, with full-text for more than 450 journals. For significant titles in the field, coverage goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915)."
Human Rights Studies Online - "This collection is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010."
JSTOR - "Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences."
Peace Research Abstracts - "Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance."
Political Science Complete - "Provides full text for more than 530 journals as well as indexing and abstracts for 2,900 journals. Also includes more than 340 full-text reference books and more than 38,000 full-text conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations."
ProQuest Research Library - "ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present."
Race Relations in America - "Race Relations in America contains over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches, photographs, scrapbooks, survey material, and case studies covering the activities of the Civil Rights Movement, the desegregation process, and other relevant events to the story of race in mid-20th century America."
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice - "This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today."
Asian-Americans Are Being Attacked. Why Are Hate Crime Charges So Rare? - The New York Times
Why This Wave of Anti-Asian Racism Feels Different - The Atlantic
Chen, H. Alexander, Jessica Trinh, and George P. Yang. "Anti-Asian Sentiment in the United States – COVID-19 and
History." The American Journal of Surgery 220, no. 3 (2020): 556-557. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0002961020302774?via=ihub.
Crenshaw, Kimberle. "Mapping the Margins: Intersectionality, Identity Politics, and Violence Against Women of
Color." Stanford Law Review 43, no. 6 (1991): 1241-1299. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://www.jstor.org/stable/1229039.
Gover, Angela R., Shannon B. Harper, and Lynn Langton. "Anti-Asian Hate Crime during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Exploring
the Reproduction of Inequality." American Journal of Criminal Justice : AJCJ 45, no. 4 (08, 2020): 647-667. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s12103-020-09545-1. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://search.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/anti-asian-hate-crime-during-covid-19-pandemic/docview/2427540246/se-2?accountid=14578.
Le, Thomas K., B.S., Leah Cha B.A., Han, Hae-Ra,PhD., R.N., and Winston Tseng PhD. "Anti-Asian Xenophobia and Asian
American COVID-19 Disparities." American Journal of Public Health 110, no. 9 (09, 2020): 1371-1373. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2020.305846. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://search.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/anti-asian-xenophobia-american-covid-19/docview/2435551420/se-2?accountid=14578.
"OCA - Asian Pacific American Advocates: Census Data Demonstrates COVID-19 Toll on Asian American Families." Targeted
News Service, Jul 10, 2020. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://search.proquest.com/newspapers/oca-asian-pacific-american-advocates-census-data/docview/2422262386/se-2?accountid=14578.
Tessler, Hannah, Meera Choi, and Grace Kao. "The Anxiety of being Asian American: Hate Crimes and Negative Biases
during the COVID-19 Pandemic." American Journal of Criminal Justice : AJCJ 45, no. 4 (08, 2020): 636-646. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s12103-020-09541-5. https://library.umd.umich.edu/verify/fwd.php?https://search.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/anxiety-being-asian-american-hate-crimes-negative/docview/2427535941/se-2?accountid=14578.