Now in its seventh edition--with more than one million copies sold worldwide--The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook remains the go-to resource for stress reduction strategies that can be incorporated into even the busiest lives. The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook broke new ground when it was first published in 1980, detailing easy, step-by-step techniques for calming the body and mind in an increasingly overstimulated world. Now in its seventh edition, this fully revised and updated workbook--highly regarded by therapists and their clients--offers the latest stress reduction techniques to combat the effects of stress and integrate healthy relaxation habits into every aspect of daily life. This new edition also includes powerful self-compassion practices, fully updated chapters on the most effective tools for coping with anxiety, fear, and panic--such as worry delay and defusion, two techniques grounded in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)--as well as a new section focused on body scan. In the workbook, you'll explore your own stress triggers and symptoms, and learn how to create a personal action plan for stress reduction. Each chapter features a different method for relaxation, explains why the method works, and provides on-the-spot exercises you can do when you feel stressed out. The result is a comprehensive yet accessible workbook that will help you to curb stress and cultivate a more peaceful life.
Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Combining theories and practical hands-on techniques, this text demonstrates how to manage the negative impacts of stress in life, and includes the latest methods and research into related fields such as relaxation techniques, coping with anxiety and managing anger.
Cotton's work reflects a depth of research and clinical practice in the area of stress management. After establishing, in her initial chapters, a thorough definition of stress, she offers a model of stress management as a therapeutic modality. Through the interface of assessment and treatment, she integrates diverse techniques into a comprehensive structure and plan for her clients. Using the same three case studies throughout the book, she presents models of "typical" clients in need of stress management and uses them to demonstrate techniques from the relaxation therapies to life-style management and to cognitive and behavioral therapy. Noting that women far outnumber men in their use of mental health services for stress-related illness, she examines gender issues in stress management, considering sensitivity to them important to effective therapy. Includes a thorough reference list and helpful name and subject indexes. A comprehensive, well-written volume, the work should be helpful to practitioners and advanced undergraduate and graduate students alike.
This book offers 15 coping strategies you can use as tools to deal more effectively with the causes of stress, and 11 relaxation techniques to help you reduce or eliminate potential or actual symptoms associated with the stress response.
Tired of letting stress have a negative impact on your life? Easy. It's impossible to get through life without encountering stress. And unfortunately, most of us learn the incorrect ways to cope with it. Thankfully, Stress Management For Dummies gives you trusted, time-tested guidance on teaching your body and mind to properly cope with stress while keeping your sanity intact. Whether it's love, work, family, or something else that has you in the red zone, this updated edition of Stress Management For Dummies will help you identify the stress triggers in your life and cut them down to size -- all without losing your cool. Shows you how to use stress in a positive, motivational way instead of letting it negatively affect your life Teaches you to retrain your body and mind to react positively to stress Helps you overcome common stresses faced in modern life If you want to manage stress and get back to living a normal life, Stress Management For Dummies has you covered.
In just weeks, you can learn mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), a clinically proven program developed by Jon Kabat-Zinn, author of Full Catastrophe Living. MBSR is effective in alleviating stress, anxiety, panic, depression, chronic pain, and a wide range of medical conditions. Taught in classes and clinics worldwide, this powerful approach shows you how to focus on the present moment in order to permanently change the way you handle stress. As you work through A Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction Workbook, you'll learn how to replace stress-promoting habits with mindful ones--a skill that will last a lifetime.This groundbreaking, proven-effective program will help you relieve the symptoms of stress and identify its causes so that you can start living a healthier, happier life.
Take a deep breath. Feeling less stressed already? Bestselling author Shamash Alidina shows just how simple it is to master the proven techniques of mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR) in this engaging guide. MBSR has enhanced the physical and emotional well-being of hundreds of thousands of people around the world. In as little as 10 minutes a day over 8 weeks, you'll be taken step by step through a carefully structured sequence of guided meditations (available to purchasers for download at the companion website) and easy yoga exercises. Vivid stories, everyday examples, and opportunities for self-reflection make the book especially inviting. Science shows that MBSR works--and now it is easier than ever to get started.
Cutting through a sea of scientific research and theories, Worried Sick answers many questions about how stress gets under our skin, makes us sick, and how and why people cope with stress differently. Included are several standard stress and coping checklists, allowing readers to gauge their own stress levels. We have all experienced stressful times—maybe a major work deadline or relocating cross-country for a new job—when we came out unscathed, feeling not only emotionally and physically healthy, but better than we did prior to the crisis. Why do some people withstand adversity without a scratch, while others fall ill or become emotionally despondent when faced with even a seemingly minor hassle? Without oversimplifying the discussion, Deborah Carr succinctly provides readers with key themes and contemporary research on the concept of stress.
In this second edition of their authoritative volume on the practical and research-based dimensions of mindfulness, Shapiro (Santa Clara Univ.) and Carlson (Univ. of Calgary, Canada) again offer what is one of the finest summaries of the emergent field of mindfulness-based solutions to psychological and physical problems. Sections of the book define mindfulness; examine its applications to clinical work; look at the evidence for its capacity to change humans in mind, spirit, and body; and examine the future course of the modality, including self-care for clinicians. Four appendixes include various mindfulness practices, as well as basic resources for clinicians and their patients.
How does mindfulness promote psychological well-being? What are its core mechanisms? What value do contemplative practices add to approaches that are already effective? From leading meditation teacher Christina Feldman and distinguished psychologist Willem Kuyken, this book provides a uniquely integrative perspective on mindfulness and its applications. The authors explore mindfulness from its roots in Buddhist psychology to its role in contemporary psychological science. In-depth case examples illustrate how and why mindfulness training can help people move from distress and suffering to resilience and flourishing. Readers are guided to consider mindfulness not only conceptually, but also experientially, through their own journey of mindfulness practice.
In today's schools, students and teachers feel unprecedented--even alarming--levels of stress. How can we create calmer classrooms in which students concentrate better and feel more positive about themselves and others? Author Thomas Armstrong offers a compelling answer in the form of mindfulness, a secular practice he defines as the intentional focus of one's attention on the present moment in a nonjudgmental way.
The book promotes mindfulness-based practices and exercises to help you deal with the physical, emotional, and mental effects of panic, and inside you will learn foundational MBSR meditation practices, including mindful breathing, sitting meditation, and loving-kindness meditation.
If you have always wanted to live more peacefully, love more fully, and discover a deeper, more meaningful spiritual life, yoga is the path. Heartfelt and deeply practical, Strong, Calm and Free brings alive the possibility of a life of inner peace, compassion and joy. Grounded in both modern science and ancient wisdom, this beautiful and inspiring book demystifies the philosophy and psychology of yoga, making the 4000-year old practice accessible for modern life. Whether you've never stepped foot on a yoga mat before or want to deepen your home practice, this beautifully-illustrated book is suitable for all abilities, gently guiding you through a ten-week journey of yoga sequences, meditations and mindful living practices that will build strength, bring insight and offer a path to healing and freedom.
There's more to meditation than just rhythmically chanting "Om" in a seated position - inner calm can be achieved through the simplest of actions, such as mindfully drinking a cup of tea. This guide shows you how to harness the power of meditation in your daily life with a variety of meditation techniques that you can learn and carry out in just a few minutes. From breathing exercises that can help you quickly calm down in a stressful situation to mantras that can help you state your intentions for the day, every page offers powerful techniques, showing you effective ways to boost your mood, manage worries, and get a good night's sleep. Featuring more than 50 easy-to-follow guided meditations, Meditation Made Easy helps lead you toward peace, tranquility, and a more relaxed life.
Live better--physically, emotionally, and spiritually--by taking simple steps to enhance your breathing You breathe over 21,000 times per day. But are you breathing well? In Breathe Slower, Deeper, Better, yoga instructor Yael Bloch helps you identify shallow, rushed, or misplaced breathing and shows you how to build better habits with simple exercises inspired by yoga and meditation. In just a few minutes a day, you can: Develop a deep, lasting sense of calm and relaxation. Improve your lung capacity, abdominal strength, and blood circulation. Reduce negative emotions, such as stress, anxiety, and depression. Strengthen your immune system and relieve health issues, including asthma, hypertension, and muscle pain. You don't have to be a yogi: Anyone can unlock centered, supple, slow, and harmonious breathing--and access a new, vibrant way of living!