Start Here
PEW Research Center: a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Institute for Women's Policy Research: compiles data across a wide variety of topics and analyzes it through a gendered lens.
Government Data
Sage Stats (library database): includes datasets that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas dating back more than 20 years. Topics covered include crime, social welfare, population, education, and more.
Detroit.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from City of Detroit agencies, including education, the economy, health, and public safety
Michigan.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from Michigan government agencies, including education, the economy, health, and public safety
USA.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from US government agencies, such as the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, National Institutes of Justice, and the National Institutes of Health.
Other Helpful Sites
America's Health Rankings: search for state rankings, state health statistic overviews, and various health measures by state
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Datasets on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. For help, see their Help for Using BJS page.
Census Data Same Sex Couples: census information on same sex couples at national, state, country, and zipcode levels
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC): Data and Statistics: browse through the topics listed under Highlighted Topics and More Tools and Topics to find data and statistics about your topic.
City of Detroit Health Department: Includes annual reports and health data for the Detroit population
LGBTData.com: a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation and gender identity data and measures. Also provides analysis, commentary, and "how to" information on effective data gathering.
Health Statistics (US Census Bureau): statistics on the prevalence of disability and fertility, the percentages of people with and without health insurance—even down to the county level through Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE), and the expenses and investments made by health care establishments
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: includes over 2,600 curated studies and datasets. It includes several large-scale and well-known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), and the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). For help, see their FAQs and User Support contact page.
UN Data: includes official statistics, estimates, and projections produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system.
United Nations: includes reports by member agencies compiling and analyzing global data in areas like labor, poverty, health, crime & justice, gender equality, and economic development. Use the search box on the top right of the landing page to search for data and reports about your topic.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: browse through the subject area categories to find data and statistics on your topic.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Enforcement Commission: includes information about employment discrimination laws and regulations as well as fact sheets about types of discrimination that include data and statistics
