Below are a list of suggested databases to begin conducting market research.
Statista: Provides curated reports that include extensive statistical data on over 600 industries. The statistics and studies are gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, and data is shared in a variety of easy-to-understand formats such as charts and infographics.
Passport: Extensive industry, demographic, consumer, and economic data for many countries worldwide. Includes forecast data to 2023, market data for 330 consumer products in 49 countries, approximately 100,000 brands, and market analysis reports.
eMarketer: Provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies, aggregated from more than 1,700 sources. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
Along with the databases listed above, there are several marketing and advertising databases that are slightly more complex. These databases allow you to customize and generate unique reports to help develop a marketing and advertising plan.
These databases offer extremely useful information, but may take a bit of time to get comfortable with. Due to their complex nature, each database listed here has its own page in this guide. See the navigation bar to the left or select the "click here" links below to find the dedicated page for each database.
Vivvix: contains a vast array of data on advertising spending since 1995. Expenditure information includes millions of brands and products across television, radio, magazine, newspaper, internet and outdoor channels. The database allows you to select the variables of interest and download a report with the data you need. CLICK HERE to view the Vivvix instructional page.
Claritas 360: a web-based application for analysis of customer data and markets. The database provides a broad understanding of consumer behaviors across a variety of categories for more efficient and effective marketing for products and services. This enables users to acquire consumers based on lifestyle, media exposure, product usage, consumption, purchasing and psychographic dimensions. Use Claritas 360 to generate reports on your market area of interest. CLICK HERE to view the Claritas 360 instructional page.
MRI Simmons Insights: provides access to U.S. adult consumer data on product and brand usage, spending behavior, media habits, and more. It can be used to create customized reports helpful for developing marketing strategies, making advertising decisions, and finding statistical information that comes from the Simmons National Consumer Study. CLICK HERE to view the Simmons Insights instructional page.