Price indexes for the US can be found on the Bureau of Labor Statistics website:
Below are resources with price information. Since the prices of raw materials can fluctuate frequently, it is important to identify and address product cost drivers. However, real-time and forecasted price information often requires a subscription or fee. These resources are a good place to start, but contact your librarian if you are struggling to locate the specific price information that you need.
The websites below provide open/free to use data on multiple sectors.
FRED: Run by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) is a free to access online database of economic data time series from a wide range of national, international, public and private sources. They have current data on commodities pricing across numerous industries.
International Monetary Fund Commodity Prices: Includes monthly data on commodity prices as well as a data visualization tool for 68 commodities.
Trading Economics - Commodities: The commodities page on the Trading Economics website includes live bid/ask quotes, last trading prices, forecasts, charts with historical time series and news pricing data on many commodities. Click on the specific commodity of interest for a more detailed overview.
World Bank Commodity Markets: Provides monthly "pink sheets" of a range of commodities with an international focus. Also includes periodic pricing analysis and forecasting.
The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA): The USDA provides some recent price assessments/forecasts for agricultural commodities. Below are a few of their resources:
US Energy Information Administration (EIA): The EIA provides current and forecasted prices by energy sector, including oil, gas, and electric. Below are a few of their resources:
The following websites can generate customized quotes, but require you to create an account. Only some information will be available for free:
