Database of Recorded American Music
Provides CD-quality streaming access to more than 4000 albums from 42 independent record labels.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music:
30,000 entries that cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present. Includes jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading for artists covered, along with complete discographies.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive:
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is a research resource containing primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the vaudeville and silent movies era through to 2000. The database includes film and entertainment industry trade magazines, fan magazines, and music press titles.
International Index to Music Periodicals:
Indexes several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of them. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
Music industry Data:
Music Industry Data is a growing repository of historical and current data from Billboard, Official Chart Company, IFPI, GfK Entertainment, and other reporting agencies from more than 30 countries around the world. It is updated weekly with coverage for the U.S. and UK extending back to the mid-1950s. Data sets can be exported into spreadsheets or as high quality "relative pitch graphs" of the precise recordings and time period selected by the user. The database also includes copyright-cleared sound samples for international charting albums and singles in multiple genres
Oxford history of Western Music:
Oxford History of Western Music starts with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago, and sweeps across centuries of musical invention and European intellectual history to provide a nuanced and stimulating historical account. Emphasis is on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age that illustrate how music works and how contemporaries heard and understood it. Descriptions are included of how the context of each stylistic period — key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events — influenced and directed compositional practices.
Oxford Music Online:
Complete access to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. This standard music reference is now updated regularly online.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive international guide to writings about music since the early 20th century. Includes bibliographic information and full text of articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Rock's Backpages:
Rock's Backpages is a digital collection of articles, reviews, interviews, features, and more from a wide range of U.S. and U.K. music publications. It covers the early 1960s to the present day and includes articles from such publications a Creem, Trouser Press, and Rolling Stone. The articles are fully searchable by artist, date, genre, and keyword
Rolling Stone Archive:
Rolling Stone Archive covers Rolling Stone magazine from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
