When doing research, think about what subject area your topic is in to locate tools to begin your search. In this example we are looking for history topics. To locate article databases with these subjects we will go to the Mardigian Library Homepage. Under "More Research Tools" section, click on the the Databases link, and you will see this screen:
Go to the "Find Databases by Subject". Using the dropdown menu, locate the History category.
Here you will find library databases for history research
Some recommended article databases:
Historical Abstracts - Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2000 journals published from 1954 - present are indexed.
JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the current year.
ProQuest Research Library - Academic and general articles about a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 to present.
Here are some things to consider when evaluating an article for quality.
1. The material should be from a credible or known or trusted publication like the International Journal of Middle East Studies or American Historical Review if you are looking for scholarly material.
2. The material should be without bias. The material should not favor one position or the other but rather state facts and possibly multiple positions.
3. The material should be authored by professionals, experts, and credentialed individuals. Does the author work in the trade? Does the author teach in the discipline? Does the author hold a Ph.D.?
4. The material should be researched and verifiable. Does the material show evidence of research and include a bibliography of the author's research? If there is no depth of research can the material be checked for accuracy? Does the author point to anything that can be checked?
5. Is the material peer-reviewed? This type of material is the gold standard for information on a topic. This is:
6. The material should be current. Material considered to be current is less than five years old unless you are looking for things for an historical perspective.
7. The material needs to be readable. The language within the material cannot be too jargony.
