Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 350: Prehistoric Archaeology

Research Guide for ANTH 350

Access Library Resources Online

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Mardigian Search

Advanced Search

Search FAQs

Check out the library's self-paced tutorial, How do I search library databases?to learn the basics of database searches.

1. What is Mardigian Search and why should I use it?

  • Mardigian Search is the library's Discovery search box, which looks through all of the library's databases at once.
  • Mardigian Search is great for:
    • finding out what's been studied in your research area
    • finding sources about interdisciplinary topics

2. How do I search for popular sources about my archeological site?

  • Identify your search words:
    • Identify the keywords of the geographical area or archeological period you're studying
  • Each book and article has tags assigned to it, words or shorts phrases that make them searchable - you want your search words to match those tags
  • ​Example: The archeological site Gobekli Tepe in the context of the broader Catalhoyuk area
    • Search: "gobekli tepe" OR catalhoyuk​
    • "gobekli tepe" searches as a phrase, not separate words
    • OR searches for sources about either Gobekli Tepe or Catalhoyuk

​3. How do I focus my search hits to popular sources?

  • In the Refine Your Search sidebar:
    • Click on More.... at the bottom of the list under Content Type
    • Click on Newspaper ArticleMagazine ArticleVideo Recording, and Streaming Video in the list that appears to the left
    • Scroll to the top of the list and click on Apply

4. How do I preview the abstract/summary of articles in the list of search hits?

  • Click on Preview below the article description

5. How do I access the article so I can read the whole thing?

  • Click on Full Text Online
  • Look for pdf Full Text or HTML Full Text links

6. How do I find National Geographic articles about my site?

  • Go to to National Geographic Virtual Library to find National Geographic articles about the site you have chosen  
  • Search for the name of your site in the search box on the top right of the home page.

7. I can't find anything on my topic. What do I do?

  • The search words you're using to describe your topic may not match the tags that have been assigned to books and articles on that topic
    • Look through the Subject terms in the Refine Your Search sidebar and check the boxes beside the topic areas that interest you
  • When you find an article that looks interesting, look at its assigned tags/subjects
    • Add any relevant tags to your search
    • This will also help you develop your research questions and search for articles about your specific research questions 
  • There may not be research tying your main ideas together yet
    • Try searching for your main ideas separately and linking their findings together
  • If you've found one article that's relevant for your topic, look through the sources in its References list to see if any of them are also relevant to your research
  • Ask Dr. Chenoweth or the Anthropology librarian, Nadine Anderson, for help
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us