Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC 442/542: Child Psychopathology

Research Guide for PSYC 442

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases and ebooks

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

DSM Online Library

DSM Online Library: Provides online access to the following volumes (off-campus access requires VPN):

  • The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th edition) (DSM-5) 
  • DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis 
  • DSM-5 Clinical Cases 

Search PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES for peer-reviewed journal articles

Use the Search FAQs below to help you find relevant articles in this PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES search box. You can also use Advanced Search for more complex searches.

Search PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES

Search FAQs

Check out the library's self-paced tutorial How do I search library databases? to learn the basics of database searches.

1. How do I search for my topic?

  • Identify the keywords of your topic and use those as your search words. 
  • Each book and article has tags assigned to it, words or shorts phrases that make each book or article searchable
    • You want your search words to match those tags 
    • Words like impact, factors, effects, or effective are not used as tags
  • Example: Which interventions are effective for children with conduct disorder?
  • Search: "conduct disorder" child* intervention*
    • Add an * to the end of a word stem to search for all words that begin with that word stem
      • child* searches for child, children, and childhood
    • Put a phrase in quotation marks to search for its words together, not as separate words
      • "conduct disorder" searches for conduct disorder as a phrase, not separate words 

2. I have too many irrelevant search hits. How do I focus them?

  • Use Refine Results on the sidebar of your search hits to focus them to sources more relevant to your assignment needs
  • You can focus your search hits to:
    • Academic Journals to focus to articles from peer-reviewed journals
    • source type, such as journal articles, books, newspapers, or magazines
    • publication date, so you get the most recent research 
  • Example: for your research paper, you are supposed to use research-based journal articles with up to date research on your research question
    • Under Refine Results:
      • check the box beside Academic Journals
      • move the Publication Date scroll bar over to 2010 to present

3. How do I know my search words match the tags assigned to articles about my research question?

  • As you scroll through the search hits, look at the assigned Subjects (tags), and see if they match your search words 
  • Subjects (tags) also help you identify the specific issues around your topic so you can give it direction and develop it into a focused research question

4. How do I identify articles that cite an article I've chosen?

  • Web of Science: use the Web of Science database to identify articles that cite your article:
    • Enter your article title and select Title from the dropdown menu by the search box
    • Look for Times Cited: # to the right of your search hits - click on the number to get a list of articles that have cited your article 
    • Click on Full Text from Publisher to read the article

5. I can't find anything on my research question. What do I do?

  • The search words you're using to describe your topic may not match the tags that PsycINFO or PsycARTICLES has assigned to books and articles on your research question
    • Use the PsycINFO Thesaurus to identify the words that PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES use to describe your disorders or topics
  • There may not be research tying your main ideas together yet.
    • Try searching for your main ideas separately and linking their findings together
  • If you've found one article that's relevant for your topic, look through the sources in its References list to see if any of them are also relevant to your research
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us