Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANTH 415/515: Nutrition and Health

Research Guide for ANTH 415/515

Access Library Resources Online

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Mardigian Search (searches all the library's databases at once)

Focused Search

Search Web of Science

Web of Science: use Web of Science to identify articles that have cited the article you've chosen:

  • Enter your article title and select Title from the dropdown menu by the search box
  • Look for Times Cited: # to the right of your search hits - click on the number to get a list of articles that have cited your article 
  • Click on Full Text from Publisher to read the article

Search FAQs

Check out the library's self-paced tutorial, How do I search library databases?to learn the basics of database searches.

1. What is Mardigian Search and why should I use it?

  • Mardigian Search is the library's Discovery search box, which looks through all of the library's databases at once.
  • Mardigian Search is great for:
    • finding out what's been studied in your research area
    • finding sources about interdisciplinary topics

2. How do I search for my topic?

  • Identify the main ideas of your topic and use those as your search words
  • Each article has tags assigned to it, words or shorts phrases that make them searchable - you want your search words to match those tags
  • Words like factors, effects, issues, relationships, links are usually not used as tags - don't include them as search words
  • Example: The topic for your research project is: What are the links between obesity and food deserts in the United States?
    • To search for this topic: food desert* obesity "united states"
      • desert* will search for desert and deserts
      • "united states" will search for United States as a phrase, not separate words

3. How do I focus my search hits to peer-reviewed articles?

  •  Use the options in the Refine Your Search sidebar to focus your search hits to peer-reviewed articles
    • Click on Peer Review
    • Click on Journal Article under the Content Type heading

4. I have too many irrelevant search hits. How do I focus them?

  • Use the options under Refine Your Search to focus your search hits
  • To articles in your discipline(s) of study:
    • Under Discipline, click on More... to open a list of all Disciplines
    • Click on your discipline(s), i.e. Anthropology
    • Scroll to the top of the list of Disciplines and click on Apply
  • To focus to sources dealing with your interest areas:
    • Under Subject Terms, click on More... to open a list of all Subject Terms
    • Click on the subjects that interest you to add them to your search, i.e. nutrition; health
    • Scroll to the top of the list of Subject Terms and click on Apply
  • Click on Preview below the article description when you find an article that looks interesting
    • Look at its assigned Subjects/tags 
    • Add any relevant tags to your search
    • This will also help you develop your research topics and search for books and articles for them 

5. How do I know my search words match the tags assigned to articles about my research question?

  • As you scroll through the search hits, click on Preview and look at the Subjects (tags) assigned to the relevant articles you find
    • See if they match your search words - if they don't change your search words accordingly
  • Subjects (tags) also help you identify the specific populations or issues in your research area

6. How do I preview the abstract/summary of articles in the list of search hits?

  • Click on Preview below the article description

7. How do I access the article so I can read the whole thing?

  • Click on Full Text Online
  • Look for pdf Full Text or HTML Full Text links

8. I can't find anything on my topic. What do I do?

  • The search words you're using to describe your topic may not match the tags that have been assigned to sources about that topic. Try different search words that mean the same thing.
  • There may not be research tying your main ideas together yet. Try searching for your main ideas separately and linking their findings together. 
  • If you've found one article that's relevant for your topic, look through the sources in its References list to see if any of them are also relevant to your research.  
  • Ask Dr. Beauchesne or the Anthropology librarian, Nadine Anderson, for help
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us