Skip to main content

SOC/WGST 4555 / ANTH/CRJ 455: Immigrant Cultures & Gender

Research Guide for SOC/WGST 4555 / ANTH/CRJ 455

Access Library Resources Online

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Search all the library's databases at once! (for interdisciplinary topics)

Sociological Abstracts Database

Use Sociological Abstracts for articles about sociology, social work, and other social sciences. For additional databases, see our Sociology databases page.

Sociological Abstracts Search FAQs

1. How do I find articles about my research question?

  • Identify the main ideas of your topic and use those as your search words
  • Each journal article, magazine article, and newspaper article has tags assigned to it, words or shorts phrases that make them searchable - you want your search words to match those tags
  • Words like influences, factors, effects, challenges are usually not used as tags - don't include them as search words
  • Example: What factors influence the development of gender identity among second generation Muslim immigrants? 
    • Search: "second generation" muslim immigrants* gender identity 
      • "second generation" searches for second generation as a phrase, not separate words
      • immigrant* searches for immigrant and immigrants

2. How do I focus my search to peer-reviewed articles?

  •  Check the Peer-Reviewed box under the search box to focus your search hits to articles from peer-reviewed journals

3. How do I know my search words match the tags assigned to articles about my research question?

  • As you scroll through the search hits, look at the Subjects (tags) assigned to the relevant articles you find, and see if they match your search words:
    • Click on Preview under the Article Title in the list of search hits
    • Look at the Subjects with which the article has been tagged - revise your search words to match those subjects
  • Subjects (tags) also help you identify the specific issues around your topic and population so that you can give it direction and develop it into a focused research question

4. How do I find the Full Text of an article so that I can read it for myself?

  • Click on the Full Text or Full Text - pdf link under the article
  • If there's no Full Text link for your article:
    • click on 360 Link to Full Text to access the article OR
    • enter the article title in the above Search All Library Databases at Once box to see if it's available in another database
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us