Health Reference Center Academic contains approx. 15 million articles from health magazines, medical journals, encyclopedias, and reference books from 1980 to the present. Searches can be limited to full-text articles or to refereed publications.
The world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals, some back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also provides full text for more than 275 books and indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. The database contains more than 3.9 million records.
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform health-care decision making regarding the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, as well as methodology and diagnostic tests. Included are:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
• Cochrane Methodology Register Database
• Health Technology Assessment Database
• NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Covers growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 to 2001, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Also covers book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, theses, and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide.
Public Affairs Index is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. This database draws from a diverse array of scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications, and government documents to provide up-to-date information on a broad range of topics of concern to the world today. Coverage starts in 1934, with more complete coverage beginning in 1970.
ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics covered include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.