EDB 540: School Budgeting and Finance

Use this site to get finance information on public elementary/secondary education. For specific public school district finance data, comparisons with other school districts, and school district fiscal and nonfiscal data over time, visit the Data Tools page. Under Finance Publications, you can find resources such as the NCES Financial Handbook.

Reports published with CCD Data include State Fiscal Reports. These reports contain state totals of revenues and expenditures, including revenues by source and expenditures by function and object, including current expenditures per pupil and instructional expenditures. Recent HTML versions contain tables that can be downloaded as Excel files.

This application can be used to compare a school district with other districts (peers). Peers can be selected automatically or manually.

This report highlights key indicators of the condition of education in the United States. These indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics and are updated as data become available.

This compendium provides state-by-state descriptions of public elementary and secondary finance policies and programs in effect during the 2014-15 school year. The report consists of two volumes. In Volume I are state-by-state descriptions across all school finance components for each state. Volume II contains separate sections for select provisions across all states, including finance formulae and cost differentials for students and districts. Tax and expenditure information is also included in this part along with 50-state data on average per pupil funding, and percentage shares of total funds, drawn from Estimates and Ranking of Education Statistics (NEA, 2014-15).

This handbook is one in a series of data handbooks published by the National Center for
Education Statistics (NCES). It continues a half-century’s tradition of sharing the best practices
in data collection and reporting with the schools, school districts, and state agencies that are our
partners in providing good information to manage, assess, and guide elementary and secondary
education.
In addition to this volume, NCES has produced the Handbooks Online tool to improve the
consistency of data definitions and data maintenance, so that education data can be more
accurately aggregated and analyzed. Handbooks Online contain data items, definitions, and a
system of data item codes at the student, staff, school, school district, and state levels. The
Handbooks Online tool is updated as needed and is available at
http://nces.ed.gov/programs/handbook/.